MScSM News and Media



May 2023- Congratulations to Lauren O'Malley, Nandaraye Choi, Borys Brodziuk, Tina Elliott (all from the MScSM Class of 2022) for placing first in the Rain it In Competition! Read about their accomplishment here: Curb Appeal

March 2023- Congratulations to Taylor Ball, Ana Laura Calleja, Hannah MacRae, Tushar Nellampani Pisharam and Masato Webb (all from the MScSM Class of 2023) for placing first in the RBC x Rotman Sustainable Finance Case Competition! Read about their accomplishment in these articles: UTM grad students take first place in Canada-wide finance case competition, U of T Celebrates: University of Toronto Mississauga graduate students win RBC x Rotman Sustainable Finance Case Competition

November 2022- Congratulations to Victoria Boyd, Nya Lazarus-Munnick, Natalie Biringer, Kaitlyn D'Lima (all from the MScSM Class of 2023), Jananee Savuntharanathan (IMI MUI student), and Dorottya Kiss (U of T Architecture student) for placing first in the Rain it In Competition! Read about their accomplishment here: Curb Appeal

July 2022 - Michael Perryman, MScSM Class of 2020, collaborated on an article that was published in the August 2022 Journal of Air Transport Management - Ready for take off: Airline engagement with the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals

May 2022 - Shefaly Gunjal, MScSM Class of 2021, was interviewed by The Globe And Mail in an article entitled Muslim women wearing hijab at work face heightened scrutiny, professional consequences. Shefaly works as the manager of equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) at Citizen Relations, a global communications and PR firm.

May 2022 - Program Director Shashi Kant was quoted in a article in The Kit about daily ecofriendly habits for minimizing your digital carbon footprint, that we can all adopt.

April 2022 - MScSM Program Director Shashi Kant's new Equity and Diversity Award will support Black and Indigenous students, and those with disabilities.

April 2022 - Congratulations to Alannah Hoops, Lara Brooks, Xi Shao, Angelic Chow, and Elyse Muir for third place win (out of 43 entries) in the RBC x Rotman Sustainable Finance Case Competition!

April 2022 - Congratulations to Kaitlyn D'Lima, Nya Lazarus-Munnick, Vicky Boyd, Natalie Biringer, Dorottya Kiss and Jananee Savuntharanathan for First Place in the Rain It In competition! The team's winning submission/proposal was the implementation of permeable pavement and bioretention cells at Hermitage Park (Ajax, ON), an area adjacent to a flood-vulnerable cluster.

April, 2022 - Xi Shao, Alannah Hoops, Angelica Chow, Elyse Muir and Lara Brooks were runners-up in the Adam's Sustainability Innovation Prize Competition. The Team created a novel sustainable apparel marketplace that advances the slow fashion movement.

April, 2022 - Xi Shao is the winner of the Individual Sustainable Action Award, in recognition of her extraordinary contributions to sustainability at the University of Toronto and in the Community. Congratulations Xi!

March, 2022 - Congratulations to Ruseh Oghenekaro, Class of 2021, who had her Paper, entitled Interactions between proposed energy-mixed scenarios and non-energy Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs): a Sub-Sahara African perspective, published in the Environmental Research Communications Journal

March, 2022 - Lulu Li, MScSM Class of 2016, is featured on the UTM Alumni page

November 2021- Congratulations to Lauren O'Malley, Nandaraye Choi, Borys Brodziuk, Tina Elliott (all from the MScSM Class of 2022) for placing first in the Rain it In Competition! Read about their accomplishment here: Curb Appeal

July, 2021 - David Harary, MScSM Class of 2017, is featured in the July issue of UofT Alumni news.

June, 2021 - Preparations for the MScSM Fall 2021 semester are underway. We plan to have in-person components for msot courses.  It is expected that all students in the MScSM Program make plans to be in the Toronto area before the start of classes in September. We look forward to seeing you all in Fall!

February, 2021 - MScSM alumnus David Harary (Board Chair of the Centre for Development and Strategy) has published an article in the New York University Law's publication Just Security entitled, New Aid for Israeli Palestian Peacebuilding Aims at Issues Underlying Security.

January, 2021 - The MScSM Winter 2021 Virtual Information Session Schedule is available now. All those interested in applying to our MScSM program are welcome to attend any of the scheduled online sessions.

January, 2021 - MScSM is pleased to announce the Stephen Bede Scharper Fellowship, to be awarded to annually to a first-year MScSM student on the basis of financial need and academic merit. It will recognize students with a demonstrated interest in global sustainability and a commitment to the values of social and environmental justice, holistic human well-being, and the betterment of humanity:

October, 2020 - Check out the U of T News article about the inaugural Adam's Sustainability Celebration here! MScSM Program Director, Shashi Kant will participate on the UTM's Sustainability Strategic Plan: Fostering a Culture of Sustainability live panel disscussion in November. Learn more here

August, 2020 - Congratulations to Diana Aldaz and Professor Kevin Yousie for winning this years' IMI Staff Award and IMI Faculty Award at the 2020 IMI Staff & Faculty Awards!

June, 2020  - Check out our very own Rylan Urban and Anastasia Boutziouvis in the Alectra Annual Sustainability Report 

March 29, 2019 - Congratulations to the newly elected MScSM Student Executive Members for the 2019-2020 academic year: Vice President Internal - Amine Mikati; Vice President External - Ana Gutierrez; Vice President Social - Yosua Husodo; Vice President Finance - Joelle Pang.

March 20, 2019 - Rylan Urban, member of Class 2020, have been voted the new incoming President of the MScSM Student Executive Council (MSEC) for the 2019-2020 academic year. Congratulations Rylan!

March 16, 2019 - Our application system for the MScSM program that begins in September 2019 is now closed. We look forward to reviewing all the applications from many outstanding applicants!

March 16, 2019 - Congratulations to Gurdeep KangJulia ShenAmy Yang, and Ru Yap, Class of 2019, for winning the WWF Designing Change for a Living Planet competition!

To read more news, visit (link to come).