Individual Student Leadership Awards

Individual Student Awards. Banner depicting a student and UTM Principal Krull.

Individual Student Leadership Awards

The Centre for Student Engagement offers nine Individual Student Leadership Awards. To learn more about each award's description, eligibility, and selection criteria for the current academic year, please click the title of each award below. These awards celebrate student involvement and leadership in UTM's values as well as impact on the UTM community. 

Applications for the current academic year are now closed.  UTM Student Leadership Awards for the 22/23 academic year will open in February 2023.

Individual Student Leadership Award Descriptions

Click here for more information about Student Group Awards

How To Apply 

An award package consists of an applicant form, a referee form, and your co-curricular record (CCR).

For the award(s) you would like to be considered for, please fill in the appropriate  application form from the list below and e-mail your referee the Referee Form with the first page completed. 

Principal's Award of Excellence in Student Leadership

Principal's Award Applicant Form
Principal's Award Referee Form

Laura Krajewski Student Mentorship Award

Mentorship Award Applicant Form
General Referee Form

UTM Emerging Leader Award 

Emerging Leader Applicant Form
Emerging Leader Referee Form

UTM Student Leadership Award in Advancing Justice for Indigenous Communities  

Indigenous Award Applicant Form
General Referee Form

UTM Student Leadership Award in:

  • Equity and Inclusion
  • Global and Intercultural Engagement
  • Leadership Development
  • Sustainability
  • Zeynab Asadi Lari Healthy Campus Award 

Complete the general form for these awards:

General Application Form
General Referee Form

Referees must e-mail the complete Awards Submission Package as email attachments to No late, incomplete, or paper applications will be accepted. 

Tips for Preparing Your Application

  • Review the applicant form in full and reach out to an appropriate referee to complete the referee form. Eligible referrees change depending on the award.  

  • Read through the Award Description to help you appropriately fill in your applicant form.  

  • Work closely with your referee to provide them with the necessary information and completed materials to submit. This includes providing your referee with the Award Description to help them fill in their referee form. 

  • Do not attach resumes or any other supplementary material as these will not be considered.

  • If you have any additional questions or would like an one-on-one consultation, please email


For all questions and feedback regarding UTM Student Leadership Awards, please contact:

Back to top of the page