Focus in Biological Anthropology


What is Biological Anthropology?

Biological Anthropology deals with the evolution of humans and primates, our closest relatives, their variability and how they have adapted to different environments. One of the major characteristics of Biological Anthropology is its strong evolutionary perspective. There are different areas of focus within biological anthropology.

  • Paleanthropology (study of fossils within the human lineage)
  • Primatology (study of primates)
  • Skeletal biology (study of the anatomy of modern humans)
  • Human biology (study growth and development, human physiology)
  • Molecular Anthropology (using molecular evidence to understand human evolution)

Virtual Showcase Information Session: A brief overview of Biological Anthropology at UTM presented by Dr. Steven Dorland (3:29)

Career areas include:

  • Health sector (Hospitals, public health agencies)
  • Government agencies
  • Private industries
  • Independent consulting
  • Environment and Natural Resources
  • Journalism
  • Zoos
  • Academia
  • Museums

Undergraduate programs

UTM undergraduate students who focus in Biological Anthropology normally enrol in one of the following programs:

  • Specialist Program in Anthropology (Science) ERSPE0105
  • Major Program in Anthropology (Science) ERMAJ0105

Learn more about Anthropology programs at UTM.

Undergraduate courses

Most of our recommended upper-level courses for a focus in Biological Anthropology are Anthropology Science (SCI) credits.

Learn more about course selection for Anthropology programs at UTM.

Watch: Sample lecture in Biological Anthropology

"Wild nights: why evolution shaped humans to be weird sleepers" presented by Professor David Samson (20:25)


Teaching and Research Specialties

At UTM, our faculty teaching and research specialties in Biological Anthropology include:

  • molecular anthropology and genetics
  • health
  • human osteology
  • paleoanthropology
  • evolutionary anthropology
  • ​forensics

Regions of interest include:

  • Americas
  • East Africa
  • East Asia
  • Europe
  • Northern Canada
  • South Africa
  • South Asia