Award Recipients

UTM campus main entrance sign
The University of Toronto Mississauga sign at the middle entrance to campus in summer. Photo © K. Hill.

Are you a UTM Anthropology student who has received an award? Please feel free to share the news with the department at

Congratulations to all UTM Anthropology undergraduate student award recipients for their outstanding work, achievements, and contributions within the department, on campus, and beyond!

Awards Showcase

Outstanding Program Performance Award

Snil "Sunny" Sahanan Memorial Scholarship recipients

Undergraduate Student Experience Funding awarded



Awards Showcase

Ontario Archaeological Association Symposium: Best Student Poster 2022

Leann Ling received the Best Student Poster award for the poster presentation at the OAS 2022 Symposium: "Considering Childhood Experiences in a Late 19th Century Settler-Colonial Household: Children’s Toys from the Schreiber Wood Project".

Canadian Association for Biological Anthropology: Best In-person Poster 2022

Luca Del Giacco received the Davidson Black Award for the best in-person poster presentation at the CABA 2022 annual meeting: "Does Early Homo Dental Variation Follow a Neutral Pattern of Divergence?".

E.A. Robinson Medal: Social Sciences 2022

Jehuda Tjahjadi was awarded the E.A. Robinson Medal: Social Sciences for his broad range of accomplishments in the department and beyond. Over the course of his undergraduate studies, Tjahjadi earned a Jackman Scholar Award and was a University of Toronto Scholar. 

Canadian Archaeological Association Best Undergraduate Student Poster 2022

Mahalia Johnna Baguio and Ya Qi Mo were awarded the Best Undergraduate Student Poster award at the CAA annual conference April 27th to 30th, 2022 for their virtual poster titled "(Re-)Imagining the Schreiber Wood Landscape: Digital Reconstructions of 19th Century Settler Occupations at the University of Toronto Mississauga".

Zeynab Asadi Lari Healthy Campus Award 2021

Arumitha Sasiharan was awarded the Zeynab Asadi Lari Healthy Campus Award for her work as a Wellness Ambassador at UTM in 2020-2021.

UTM Dean's Choice Award 2020-21

The UTM Anthropology Society (UTMAS) was awarded a UTM Dean's Choice Award for academic student societies for their outstanding work in 2020-21. The society was recognized for organizing and participating in over 20 events and initiatives, with dedication and professionalism.

Ontario Archaeological Society Best Overall Student Paper 2020

Yasmine Vella received the award for the best overall student paper given at the Ontario Archaeological Society Virtual Symposium (Nov. 6-8, 2020), for her paper "Using Legacy Collections at University of Toronto Mississauga for Undergraduate Research", co-authored with Dr. David Smith.

Ontario Archaeological Society Best Overall Student Poster 2020

Mahalia Baguio has received the award for the best overall student poster presented at the Ontario Archaeological Society Virtual Symposium (Nov. 6-8, 2020) for Life at a Glance as Seen through Ceramics (Mahalia Johnna Baguio, C. Johnson, S. Ranlett, M. Brand, and T. Orchard)

Young Entrepreneur Conference (YEC) Case Competition First Place 2020

UTM Anthropology student Aleesha Singh and her project partner Aimee Padillo were awarded first place in the Young Entrepreneur Conference (YEC) case competition, winning the $1000 prize. The case competition focused on addressing how to innovate Amazon Music's user experience using design thinking and a customer-centric approach.

Dean’s Excellence Award 2019

Aleesha Singh was awarded the Dean's Excellence Award at UTM. Additionally, Aleesha was selected as a Forbes Under 30 Scholar and attended the Forbes Under 30 Summit.


Outstanding Program Performance Award Winners for Anthropology at UTM

  • 2022 Kevin Adamson
  • 2021 Amanda Craig
  • 2020 Isra Sahir
  • 2019 Gabriel Tran
  • 2018 Sara Lopez
  • 2017 Kayleigh Jalsevac and Donna Winter
  • 2016 Sebastian Burghardt
  • 2015 Alexandra Cecelia Johansen
  • 2014 Rhonda Dona Casey Norto
  • 2013 Matthew Resendes Medeiros
  • 2012 Victoria Catherine Jackson


Snil "Sunny" Sahanan Memorial Scholarship recipients

  • 2023 Hyatt Awisse. Hyatt is a Global Fellow with the University of Toronto Centre for Diaspora and Transnational Studies and Operation Black Vote Canada.


Undergraduate Student Experience Funding awarded

The Department of Anthropology has awarded grants to Anthropology undergraduate students for participation in conferences, professional development, and non-UTM field schools.

In 2021-22: UTM Anthropology Undergraduate Student Experience funding was awarded as follows:

  • 48% of funding was for conference participation
  • 40% of funding was for non-UTM field school particpation
  • 12% of funding was for online summer course participation

Learn more about the fund