Grant & Award Recipients

Please note that this page is a new initiative. New grant recipients and awardees will be added as results are announced and embargoes are lifted. If you have any questions or suggestions, please contact


NFRF Research for Postpandemic Recovery

Congratulations to Shauna Brail, Director and Associate Professor, Institute for Management & Innovation and Tara Vinodrai, Associate Professor and Director of the Master of Urban Innovation program, Institute for Management & Innovation, who are co-principal investigators on a successful NFRF Research for Postpandemic Recovery grant titled "Recovery for All? Long-term Pandemic Impacts on the Employment and Health of Women and Youth".

This grant is led by Karen Chapple, Professor in the Department of Geography & Planning. 


Joint EMHSeed & XSeed

Congratulations to the recipients of the Joint EMHSeed & XSeed Funding Program! Two of the co-PIs are from UTM:

  • Professor Lueder Kahrs (Math and Computational Sciences) with Eric Diller (MIE) | Pose Estimation and Control of Surgical Micro-Robots with Optical Coherence Tomography
  • Professor Benjamin Wolfe (Psychology) with Birsen Donmez (MIE) | Normal Blindness: Why Do Drivers Miss Other Road Users Even Though They are Looking, and What Can We Do About It?


NFRF Exploration

Congratulations to Ulrich Fekl, Associate Professor, Department of Chemical & Physical Sciences, who is a co-principal investigator on a successful 2023 NFRF Exploration grant titled "Quantum Machine Learning Advantage for Molecular Property Predictions" led by Hans-Arno Jacobsen, Professor at the University of Toronto Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering.


NFRF Transformation

OVPR would like to congratulate all recipients of the 2023 NFRF Transformation grant titled "CANSTOREnergy: Seasonal storage of renewable energy". The project is led by David Sinton, Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering and co-led by Professors Drew Higgins (McMaster University), Heather MacLean (Civil and Mineral Engineering, University of Toronto), and Kate Neville (Political Science and School of the Environment, University of Toronto).

UTM co-applicants are Laurel Besco, Assistant Professor, Department of Geography, Geomatics, and Environment and Tracey Galloway, Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology.

>>Read the story here!



Congratulations to Alana Ogata, Assistant Professor, Department of Chemical & Physical Sciences, who was a co-applicant on a successful 2023 NSERC Collaborative Research and Training Experience (CREATE) program grant titled "Translating Cardiovascular Remote Diagnostic and Monitoring Technologies for Equitable Healthcare (CaRDM Eq)".

This project is led by Professor Azadeh Yadollahi, Senior Scientist at the KITE Research Institute and Associate Professor at the Institute of Biomedical Engineering, University of Toronto.


DSI-McLaughlin Centre Polygenic Risk Score Grant

Congratulations to Frank Wendt, Assistant Professor, Department of Anthropology and to Esteban Parra, Professor, Department of Anthropology for being awarded the DSI-McLaughlin Centre Polygenic Risk Score Grant for their proposal titled “Tandem repeat aware risk scores linking major depression and hippocampus volume”.


CDHI Emerging Projects Fund

Congratulations to Ajay Rao, Associate Professor, Department of Historical Studies, for being awarded a 2022-2023 Emerging Project Fund grant by the Critical Digital Humanities Initiative.


Alfred P. Sloan Foundation 

Congratulations to the UTM 2023 Sloan Research Fellows

  • Duncan Dauvergne, Assistant Professor, Department of Mathematical & Computational Sciences 
  • Sushant Sachdeva, Assistant Professor, Department of Mathematical & Computational Sciences 

>>Read the story here!


CIHR Project Grant 

Congratulations to all UTM awardees in the September 2022 CIHR Project Grant competition! 

  • Patrick Gunning, Professor, Department of Chemical & Physical Sciences 
    CIHR Project Grant
    "Development of Selective HDAC6 Small Molecule Inhibitors for the Treatment of Brain Cancers" 
  • Loren Martin, Associate Professor, Department of Psychology 
    Bridge Grant
    "Social control of pain"
  • Alex Nguyen Ba, Assistant Professor, Department of Biology 
    Priority Announcement One-Year Grant
    "Multiplexed assay for variant interpretation in human oncogenes using a humanized yeast model"
  • Iva Zovkic, Associate Professor, Department of Psychology 
    Priority Announcement One-Year Grant
    "Isoform-specific roles of the histone variant macroH2A1 in memory and Alzheimer's disease"


SSHRC Connection Grant 

Congratulations to Karen Ruffle, Professor in UTM's Department of Historical Studies, for being awarded a SSHRC Connection Grant in the November 2022 competition for her project titled "Practices of Devotion to the Ahl-e Bait at Home and in Diaspora: Materiality, Ritual, and the Digital Senses".