Tiffany D'Souza

Tiffany D’Souza (She/Her), MSW, RSW

Personal Counsellor and Mental Health Worker
UTM Health & Counselling Centre
  • Mailing Address:

    3359 Mississauga Road
    Mississauga ON L5L1C6

I was born in India and immigrated to Canada in my early teens. I identify as half South Asian/half European. I am fluent in two languages.

Experience / Area of Expertise

Life is not lived in black and white. It can consist of changes, challenges, and struggles. At times, it can be scary, it can be messy, and we might feel alone when faced with these hardships. We have all been there - including myself. 

Nevertheless, asking for help is an act of courage. It can allow for options, different perspectives, and insight. It can help to cast a wider net in finding people who are supportive of you, someone who will listen to your story without judgement, and work with you collaboratively to reach your goals. Thus, making the journey less daunting, and more manageable. 

I am a registered social worker with over 10 years of experience, who works from an anti-oppressive, trauma informed, and client centered approach. I have had the honour and the pleasure of working with many different populations and backgrounds. Some of my experience includes working with children, at-risk youth, students in educational settings, adults in both outpatient and inpatient hospital care, as well as mental health care in community settings. 

When providing psychotherapy, my core values include, establishing safety, meeting a client with where they are at and empowering them to make their own choices. I enjoy helping others to deepen their understanding in order to challenge their inner biases. Above all, I strive to practice the art of “holding space”. 

I have received training in Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT), Dialectical Behavioural Therapy (DBT), Narrative Therapy, Brief Solution Therapy, Trauma Informed Therapy, and addiction counselling. I possess a double Honours BA in Human Rights and Sociology, with a double minor in Gender Studies and Art History. Additionally, I possess a Bachelor and a Masters in Social Work. 

Things I love

Spending time with family & friends, my dogs, hiking, dance/being active, travelling, trying new restaurants, period dramas, a good book with a cup of tea, and an unusual obsession with the Titanic.