Message Regarding COVID-19

Dear UTM Community,

Further to the University of Toronto’s announcement regarding COVID-19 and suspension of all in-person classes and exams, the Academic Experience team will be available to assist faculty, staff, and students with navigating this difficult situation while the campus remains open. As this situation is rapidly evolving, we will update the UTM community regularly with any changes to our services. At present, Academic Experience staff may be contacted by e-mail and teleconferencing meetings can be arranged on request.

Please be advised that we have made modifications to the delivery of some of our services to better accommodate the community during this time. We provide below the contact information and modified services of Academic Experience staff for your reference.

Academic Success & Integrity

Lucy Gaspini, Director, Academic Success & Integrity (lucy.gaspini@utoronto.ca; 905-828-3964)

  • Our last Lecture Me! talk of the year (“A Land of Her Own: Tales of Three Women Authors from Franco-Canadian Literature” by Professor Rosa Hong) on April 7 has been cancelled.

Academic Integrity

Lucy Gaspini, Director, Academic Success & Integrity (lucy.gaspini@utoronto.ca)

Lisa Devereaux, Manager, Academic Integrity (lisa.devereaux@utoronto.ca)

Tali Ajimal, Coordinator, Academic Appeals & Integrity (t.ajimal@utoronto.ca)

  • AIU staff continue to be available by e-mail. Requests for teleconferencing meetings can be made over e-mail.
  • All in-person academic integrity meetings with students have been cancelled. In-take of new academic integrity from the academic departments will continue as usual.
  • All in-person academic appeals meetings with students have been cancelled. In-take of new academic appeals from the Committee-on-Standing will continue as usual.
  • AIU staff are not taking drop-in appointments at this time. Students with questions about academic integrity and/or appeals should reach out via e-mail.
  • AIU staff plan to provide alternate means of resolving cases remotely. More to follow.

Experiential Education

Lucy Gaspini, Director, Academic Success & Integrity (lucy.gaspini@utoronto.ca)

Rena Banwait, Manager, Experiential Education Unit (rena.banwait@utoronto.ca)

  • EEU staff continue to be available by e-mail. Requests for teleconferencing meetings can be made over e-mail.

Sue Romulo, Experiential Learning Officer & ROP Coordinator (sue.romulo@utoronto.ca)

  • We encourage faculty supervisors to be flexible and provide students with the opportunity to complete their ROP projects remotely where possible.
  • The ROP Coordinator is not taking drop-in appointments at this time. Students with questions about ROP courses or applications should reach out over e-mail.

Kayla Sousa, Experiential Learning Officer (kayla.sousa@utoronto.ca)

Stephanie Vega, Experiential Learning Officer (stephanie.vega@utoronto.ca)

Atiya Hamid, Experiential Learning Officer (atiya.hamid@utoronto.ca)

  • Students with questions about how to proceed with their internship placements should consult with their course instructor and designated Experiential Learning Officer over e-mail.
  • All Experiential Learning Officers continue to be available by e-mail. Requests for teleconferencing meetings can be made over e-mail.
  • Experiential Learning Officers are not taking drop-in appointments with students at this time.

The Experiential Education Unit has posted a Frequently Asked Questions page to assist with general inquiries. In addition, the University of Toronto has created a central information hub for important messages and commonly asked questions about the coronavirus and its impact on the university. You can also submit questions through an online form. Questions are routed to the appropriate office and staff will respond as soon as possible.

We understand that these modifications to our services may present short-term challenges; however, we will work closely with our partners to ensure that the needs of faculty, staff, and students are being met across the campus.

Thank you for your patience during this time,

Lucy Gaspini
Director, Academic Success & Integrity

March 17, 2020