2022 Departmental Award Recipients

The Department of Chemical and Physical Sciences congratulates its 2021-22 undergraduate and graduate student award winners. As always, we are thankful to the sponsors of these awards, and appreciate their support in recognizing the achievements of our students. A complete list of the award winners can be found below.

Sincere congratulations to everyone!


Name of Award Award Recipient
John Pounder Prize in Astronomy (AST101)

Isha Nayab

Isabella Iacoe

John Pounder Prize in Astronomy (AST110)

Alyssa Atkinson

John Pounder Prize in Astronomy (AST201) Damon Ma


Name of Award Award Recipient
James J. Rae Chemistry Prize

Isabella Iacoe

Lawrence V. Redman Prize in Chemistry

Alan Zhang

Tarkan Dahi

Carl Manning Prize

Shriya Gulati

Igor Bolta Scholarship in Chemistry

Meelad Saber

The Canadian Society for Chemistry Silver Medal

Ian Kenalty

Beck Peterson

Dylan Mcfarlene-Urbszat

The Chemical Institute of Canada Toronto Section Book Prize

Yasmin Abdellatiff

The Society of Chemical Industry Merit Award (Canadian Section)

Leen Sbaih

Ivonne Lopez-Miranda

Zaheer Khan

Moore Award in Chemistry

Ariel Haxhiaj

Earth Science

Name of Award Award Recipient
David Kobluk Memorial Scholarship Ethan Mooney
Frederick R. Burton Scholarship in Earth Science Amelie Lo
Isabel and Tuzo Wilson Scholarship Mohammad Rabbani
Moore Award in Earth Science Sausann Omran


Name of Award Award Recipient
H. W. Taylor Award in Physics Stashu Kozlowski
Petar Hein Award in Physics Obada Al Ajeh
Moore Award in Physics Christabel Faylinn
Feynman Award Logan Blaskie

Natural Science and Engineering Research Council Undergraduate Student Research Award (NSERC USRA)

Award Recipients
Meelad Saber
Shriya Gulati
Thomas Tsangaris

University of Toronto Excellence Award (UTEA)

Award Recipients
Zain Nassrullah
Ivonne Lopez-Miranda
Maya Eid

Advances in Earth Science Research Conference (AESRC) Sponsorship Recipients

Award Recipients - N/A

Women in Science and Engineering Conference (WISE) Sponsorship Recipients

Award Recipient - N/A

Canadian Undergraduate Physics Conference (CUPC)

Award Recipients - N/A

Canadian Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics (CCUWiP) Sponsorship Recipients

Award Recipient
Shrivardhan Mishra

Huguette Cohen Award

Award Recipients
Alex Gabbey
Elyse Digby
John Monteith
Justin Van Houten

Fraser Code PhD Thesis Award

Award Recipients
Katie Maloney
Yasir Raouf

CPS Teaching Fellowship Award

Award Recipients
Advikaa Dosajh
Zheng Zhang

CPS Research Visit Award

Award Recipients
B Kell
Kamdin Mirsanaye

CPS Best Paper Award

Award Recipients - N/A