UTM scholars among 30 U of T researchers to share in $7.3 million in funding

Scott Prosser, Baohua Liu and Ho-Sung Ree
Thursday, April 12, 2018 - 11:50am
U of T News

Three U of T Mississauga scholars are among 30 researchers at U of T who are sharing $7.3 million in federal funding announced Wednesday through the Canada Foundation for Innovation’s John R. Evans Leaders Fund.

The money will fund new state-of-the-art equipment, new collaborations and research space.

“The University of Toronto congratulates our researchers – many of them recent recruits to our campuses,” said Vivek Goel, U of T’s vice-president of research and innovation.

“The continuing support from the Government of Canada and the Canada Foundation for Innovation enables us to attract and retain top global scholars like today’s recipients and push towards breakthroughs across an incredible breadth and depth of research areas.”

UTM researchers receiving funding through the John R. Evans Leaders Fund are:

  • Professor Scott Prosser of the Department of Chemical & Physical Sciences for “Infrastructure for advanced structure and spectroscopic studies of G-protein-coupled receptors.”
  • Assistant Professor Baohua Liu of the Department of Biology for “Synaptic, cellular and circuit mechanisms underlying the cortical control of the optokinetic reflex.”
  • Assistant Professor Ho-Sung Rhee of the Department of Biology for “High-resolution mapping of functional genomic elements in spinal motor neurons.”

Visit the U of T News site for the full story, including other of U of T researchers and projects awarded funding.