Loren Martin and John Ratcliffe

U of T gains 34 new Canada Research Chairs

Terry Lavender (with files from Nicole Bodnar)

The University of Toronto has been awarded 34 new Canada Research Chairs and seven renewals, federal minister of science Kirsty Duncan announced February 9.

The researchers come from across the university, and are studying subjects on scales ranging from the microscopic to the galactic. U of T now has 255 Canada Research Chairs, the largest number of any university in the country.

A total of 305 new and renewed Canada Research Chairs -- including UTM biology professor John Ratcliffe and UTM psychology professor Loren Martin -- were appointed at 53 postsecondary institutions across the country in the Feb. 9 announcement. Launched in 2000, the Canada Research Chair program is aimed at helping the country attract and retain research leaders in engineering and natural sciences, health sciences, humanities and social sciences. The program is a tri-agency initiative of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council, the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research. 

Read the full story...