Faculty Awards


Professor Florian Shkurti awarded the 2021 Connaught New Researcher Award

August 27, 2021

Robotics Professor Shkurti is among the 53 U of T faculty to receive the 2021 Connaught New Researcher Award for his project "Robotics and Machine Learning in the Wild: New Directions in Automated Environmental Monitoring."

Professor Daniel Zingaro awarded the 2021 OISE Leaders and Legends Awards 

May 28, 2021

Professor Zingaro is among the six faculty awarded OISE's 2021 Leaders and Legends Award as recognition for excellence in leadership in teaching, research and advocacy – while striving for excellence in academic programs, student experience, research and scholarship. Please read more here.

Professor Yevgeny Liokumovich awarded the 2021 Sloan Research Fellowship in Mathematics

February 16, 2021

Professor Liokumovich was awarded a prestigious Sloan Fellowship among the 128 brightest young researchers in the US and Canada. This award is given to early-career scientists and scholars of outstanding promise. 

Elisheva Gamse and Sadia Sharmin selected as the recipients of the Award for Excellence in Teaching by a Junior Member, 2018-19 

October 22, 2019

We are delighted to announce that Elisheva Gamse, the Postdoctoral Fellow, and Sadia Sharmin, Sessional Instructor, have been selected as the winners of the Award for Excellence in Teaching by a Junior Member of the UTM MCS Research Community for 2018-19.

Daniel Zingaro receives UTM Teaching Excellence Award for Junior Faculty

October 17, 2019

Congratulations to Daniel Zingaro, Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream, for receiving the UTM Teaching Excellence Award for outstanding teaching by a junior faculty member. Please read more here: https://www.utm.utoronto.ca/vp-research/teaching-excellence-award-faculty

Andrew Petersen receives a prestigious OCUFA Teaching Award

October 1, 2019

Andrew Petersen, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, has been named one of Ontario’s most outstanding university teachers by the Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA). He will receive a 2018-2019 OCUFA Teaching Award at an Oct. 19 ceremony in Toronto. This award recognizes dedicated and passionate teachers and mentors who make exceptional contributions to the quality of higher education in Ontario: 



Sadia Sharmin, Professors Daniel Zingaro, and Lisa Zhang receive Program Chair's  Award at CompEd 2019

May 24, 2019

This award is given to the best conference paper where the first author is a student. This work investigates the effect of using open-ended, exploratory assignments in an introductory computer science course. The paper is available here: https://dl.acm.org/citation.cfm?id=3309532

Daniel Zingaro receives Research and Teaching awards 

April 3, 2019

Daniel Zingaro and his colleagues are recognized with a SIGCSE Top Ten Symposium Papers of All Time award. "The ACM SIGCSE Top Ten Symposium Papers of All Time Award recognizes the outstanding papers published in the first 49 Proceedings of the Annual ACM Technical Symposium." The paper is a multi-national, multi-institutional study of the benefits of Peer Instruction (PI) pedagogy in computer science. The paper is available here: http://dl.acm.org/citation.cfm?id=2844642 and more information about the award is here: https://www.acm.org/media-center/2019/march/sigcse-top-10-papers

Daniel Zingaro and his colleagues were awarded the Third-Best Research Paper at SIGCSE 2019 for "Exploring the Value of Different Data Sources for Predicting Student Performance in Multiple CS Courses." The paper is available here: https://dl.acm.org/citation.cfm?id=3287407.

Finally, Daniel Zingaro is a recipient of the 2018-19 University of Toronto Early Career Teaching Award. "The University of Toronto Early Career Teaching Award recognizes faculty members who are effective teachers and demonstrate an exceptional commitment to student learning, pedagogical engagement, and teaching innovation." Read more here and here.