Mississauga Academy of Medicine recognizes excellence in education with annual awards

Sunglasses and the paper program for the MAM awards
Thursday, May 29, 2014 - 12:01pm
Blake Eligh

The Mississauga Academy of Medicine recognized innovative teaching and outstanding contributions at a special ceremony on May 22, 2014. The awards honour members of the faculty, staff, student body and community who have made outstanding contributions to medical education and the overall student experience for the four-year MD program. Launched in 2011, the first class of Mississauga Academy of Medicine students will graduate in 2015.

Before the awards were handed out, UTM biotechnology lecturer Jayson Parker spoke about the ways that technological advances are leading medical education. He touched on the emergence of 3-D printers as a way to readily create customized medical devices, such as prosthetics and braces for pediatric or surgical use. He pointed to new developments in wearable wireless technology, such as fitness trackers, and the potential impact that related “big data” collection could have upon patient health, privacy and well-being. Finally, Parker looked ahead to preparing medical personnel to treat casualties of future global military operations, including drone warfare. 

Innovative educators must keep an eye on the future, Parker said. “As educators, we have to ensure our students are nimble enough to respond to these developments.”

Dr. Norman Hill, vice president, medical education and medical administration, Trillium Health Partners, presented awards recognizing excellence in clinical skills teaching to MAM faculty members Dr. Donald Head (Preclerkship), Dr. Dennis DiPasquale (Clerkship) and Delilah Ofosu-Barko (Small Group Teaching). Dr. Anu Joneja was recognized with an award for Excellence in Problem-Based Learning Teaching.

Dr. Dante Morra, chief of staff,Trillium Health Partners, presented MAM Citizen of the Year awards to Dr. Stephen McKenzie (Faculty), Pooya Dibajnja and Yang Lei (Student), and MAM administrative staff members Paty Callaghan and Elizabeth Day (Staff). 

Professor Deep Saini, vice-president of U of T and principal of U of T Mississauga, was on hand to recognize the contributions of the Peel District School Board with an award for Community Agency.

MAM academy director Dr. Pamela Coates presented a special memento—a personalized embroidered sweatshirt—to Dr. Jay Rosenfield, Vice-Dean of Undergraduate Medical Professions Education in the Faculty of Medicine. Dr. Rosenfield was recognized for his role in the success of the MAM program, from early planning stages, and for working in collaboration with former vice-president of U of T and principal of U of T Mississauga Ian Orchard, present vice-president of U of T and principal of U of T Mississauga Professor Deep Saini and the Trillium Health Partners leadership.