Graduate Awards


On recommendation of the Department of Biology, University of Toronto Mississauga, the Roberta Bondar Graduate Student Excellence Award is to recognize outstanding Ph.D. candidate(s) at the Department of Biology who are UTM affiliated in honor of their demonstration of outstanding research excellence and positive contributions to extracurricular activities that enhance community life at UTM. Winners

The Alvin Singh Graduate Teaching Assistant Excellence Award has been established in 2020 in memory of Alvin Singh by the UTM Biology Department with generous contributions from faculty, students, staff, family and friends.

The Student Hottest Paper Award is presented annually to a UTM Biology Graduate Student who published the “hottest” paper in the preceding calendar year.

The Department of Biology has created the “First Paper Award” to recognize a major accomplishment in a graduate student’s research career, the publication of a first-authored paper.  This award will be given to each student at the time they publish their first lead authored paper based on research completed as a graduate student at UTM in the Department of Biology.

The award recognizes outstanding achievements by graduate students who have made significant and sustained contributions to the Department of Biology and the broader graduate student community. The award is designed to honor those exceptional individuals who have gone above and beyond their academic and research responsibilities to improve the student experience, inspire others and promote a collaborative and supportive work and learning environment.
Graduate students enrolled in a thesis-based research stream program (e.g. CSB and EEB MSc and PhD students) who are UTM affiliated and are supervised by a Biology faculty member.

To be awarded upon the recommendation of the Biology Department to the outstanding M.Sc. candidate entering the graduate program in either Botany, Zoology, Microbiology or Biochemistry, whose research activities are located on the UTM Campus.


Nasha Sethna

  • 2021-2022 - Sherry Du (Murray Lab)
  • 2020-2021 - Imaan Jeewa (Levine Lab) & Osama Abdalla (Cheng Lab)
  • 2019-2020 -  Tea Maho (Reisz Lab) & Anhadvir Singh (Senatore Lab)
  • 2018-2019 - Sigi Maho (Reisz Lab)
  • 2017-2018 – Priscilla Valentino (Erclik Lab)
  • 2016-2017 – Wassim Elkhaitb (Senatore Lab)