Desmond Parker Outstanding Young Alumni Award


Award Recipient with Friends

The 2024 nomination period closed on Thursday, November 30, 2023

Desmond Parker Outstanding Young Alumni Award recognizes inspirational young alumni who have demonstrated excellence in both professional achievement and community service.

Named in recognition of Desmond Parker (BA 1975), U of T Mississauga alumnus and former Chief of Protocol at the United Nations, the award acknowledges Parker's courageous passion and commitment to public service and human rights over his 40-year career in international diplomacy and protocol.

Recipients of the Desmond Parker Outstanding Young Alumni Award are UTM alumni aged 40 and under who demonstrate excellence in professional achievement and inspirational leadership through community service and dedicated recent or long-standing voluntary service with the University while promoting active enrichment of U of T Mississauga's image in the community at large.

Past recipients:

2023 - Aly Madhavji (BCom 2012 UTM)
2022 - Eugenia Addy (HBSc 2010 UTM, PhD 2015 U of T)
2021 - Samra Zafar (HBSc 2013 UTM, MA 2014 U of T)
2019 - Priya Dogra (HBSc 2002)
2018 - Pacinthe Mattar (HBA 2008)
2017 - Candice Jay (HBA 2007)
2016 - Richie Mehta (HBA 2001)
2015 - Alfredo Tan (HBSc 1998)
2014 - Rumeet Billan (BA 2006, MEd 2010, PhD 2014)