J. Tuzo Wilson Distinguished Alumni Award


Award Recipients

The 2024 nomination period is now open and will close on Friday, October 20, 2023 at 5 p.m. ET.


J. Tuzo Wilson Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes outstanding alumni for their dedication to both enriching the lives of others through community service and achieving a level of distinction in their professional field.

Named in recognition of the former principal of U of T Mississauga (1967-1974) who achieved worldwide acclaim for his contributions to the theory of plate tectonics, the award acknowledges the impact of Wilson's exceptional professional achievements and his service to the University.

Recipients of the J. Tuzo Wilson Distinguished Alumni Award are alumni leaders and volunteers who impact and enrich the lives of others through their involvement with community service and demonstrate excellence and high distinction in their chosen profession.

Past recipients:

2023 - PJ Patel (BSc 1994 UTM)
2022 - Ivana Di Millo (BA 1988 UTM)
2021 - Claire Carver-Dias (BA 2002 UTM)
2019 - Warren Edgar (BA 1987 UTM)
2018 - Dario Di Censo (BCom 1988 UTM)
2017 - Sven Spengemann (BSc 1990 UTM)
2016 - Nykolaj F. Kuryluk (BSc 1989 UTM)
2015 - Kirstine Stewart (BA 1988 UTM)
2014 - Walter J. Schneider (BA 1976 UTM)