NSERC USRA

2017-18 NSERC USRA 
Undergraduate Student Research Award

The University of Toronto Mississauga 2017-18 NSERC Undergraduate Student Research Award applications are underway.  

UTM Psychology Application Deadline: February 24th, 2017


PURPOSE OF AWARD

To provide research work experience that complements the degree program which will encourage students to consider graduate studies and pursue careers in the natural sciences and engineering.

AWARD VALUE

$4,500.00 plus a minimum 25% supplement ($1,125.00) provided by the department

DURATION OF AWARD

16 full consecutive weeks

University of Toronto Mississauga administers this program in the summer months only, between May 1st  and September 30th.

  • No provisions for sick leave, vacation or other interruptions of awards. Should a work term be terminated early, NSERC must be informed immediately through the Office of Research Services.
  • Awards may NOT be deferred. All efforts must be made to give awards to students who can complete or commit to a 16 week work term.

ELIGIBILITY

  • Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada
  • Registered either full‐time or part‐time (at the time of application) in a bachelor’s degree program in the term immediately before holding the award.
  • Must have obtained, over previous years of study, a cumulative average of at least second class (a grade of B or B‐) CGPA of 2.7 to 3.0
  • Must have completed, at least time of application, a minimum of two academic terms.
  • (1st year students are ineligible)
  • Graduating students, in the term immediately following the completion of their undergraduate program requirements, as long as they have not started a program of graduate studies.
  • Be engaged on a full‐time basis in research and development activities in the natural sciences or engineering during the award tenure.
  • MUST find an eligible supervisor who holds a current NSERC grant (list of potential supervisors on back)

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Complete the latest version of the application form (Part 1) online. Follow the instructions and adhere to NSERC’s General Presentation Guideline. HANDWRITTEN APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED.      http://www.nserc-crsng.gc.ca/Students-Etudiants/UG-PC/USRA-BRPC_eng.asp
  2. Attach a PDF copy of your transcripts to the application form (Part 1)
  3. Once application has been completed on‐line, print, sign and submit to Jodie Stewart, Academic Counsellor along with original University transcript by the indicated department deadline. (February 24th).
  4. Student/Supervisor Certification form must be completed and must bear your and your supervisor’s original signatures.  Hard copies of this form is available in Psychology office.
  5. Review NSERC application instructions carefully:

http://www.nserc-crsng.gc.ca/OnlineServices-ServicesEnLigne/instructions/202/e.asp#appinfo

ELIGIBILE SUPERVISORS
 

Supervisor   Email Contact
Craig Chambers  craig.chambers@utoronto.ca 
Meredyth Daneman daneman@psych.utoronto.ca
Norm Farb norman.farb@utoronto.ca
Alison Fleming    alison.fleming@utoronto.ca
Robert Gerlai robert.gerlai@utoronto.ca
Melissa Holmes   melissa.holmes@utoronto.ca
Elizabeth Johnson   elizabeth.johnson@utoronto.ca 
Tina Malti  tina.malti@utoronto.ca
Loren Martin lj.martin@utoronto.ca
Ashley Monks  ashley.monks@utoronto.ca 
Kathy Pichora‐Fuller  k.pichora.fuller@utoronto.ca
Eyal Reingold   reingold@psych.utoronto.ca
Glenn Schellenberg   glenn.schellenberg@utoronto.ca
Bruce Schneider   bruce.schneider@utoronto.ca 
Sandra Trehub      Sandra.trehub@utoronto.ca 
Iva Zovkic  iva.zovkic@utoronto.ca

Note: All applicants are responsible to find an eligible supervisor willing to support their application                       

Should you have any questions pertaining to the application process, contact

Jodie Stewart, Academic Counsellor
Psychology Office, Deerfield Hall, 4th Floor
Tel: 905-828-5414 email: jodie.stewart@utoronto.ca