Department of Political Science


Welcome to the Department of Political Science at the University of Toronto Mississauga.

Political Science is the systematic study of politics.  Political Science is more than discussing who won the last election and who will win the next one.  Politics is about power and justice, and Political Science tries to give one a better understanding of the nature of different societies, why certain policies prevail and not least whether these are just or unjust policies.  Political Science students can explain how bureaucracies work: how great powers rise and fall; the difference between an effective public policy and a misguided one; how to design an unbiased opinion poll; and what factors shape international decision making. While Political Science mainly involves empirical study of society, it also incorporates philosophical questions such as who ought to rule? What is legitimacy? Are liberty and equality compatible?

The Department of Political Science at UTM offers its students the chance to customize their degrees to their personal interests, to explore the latest topics in politics with the latest teaching methods, and to learn from internationally renowned scholars. Our faculty members have a diverse and exciting range of research interests and specializations, from International Relations to political economy, from Environmental Politics to the study of conflict and genocide. This exceptional strength in research permeates into our curriculum, and we pride ourselves on the broad and stimulating range of courses we are able to offer our students. The Department strives to encourage graduates not only to become “thinkers”, but to develop an extensive portfolio of practical skills transferable to many careers: research skills, analysis, communication, presentation, time management and writing skills.

We cordially invite you to spend some time here learning about our growing, dynamic department.



WCAG 2.0 (Level AA)


12/03/2015 - 16:46

This event has been postponed, we will advertise when a new date has been set.


12/01/2015 - 09:42

The Review of Policy Research released a special edition on Transboundary Natural Resource Governance in North America.

06/01/2015 - 09:53

Hill Times has included Land, Stewardship, And Legitimacy: Endangered Species Policy in Canada and the United States by Professor Andrea Olive o

09/09/2014 - 09:26

Environmental Politics Students Danielle Coore and Shea Caughlin published an article in the Saskatchewan paper on the dangers fracking poses to the environment; to read the article follow this