Professors Judith Poë and Andrew Dicks (St. George campus) co-chaired the IUPAC 23rd International Conference on Chemistry Education which was held July 13-18 in Toronto.

24 Jul 2014 - 9:17am

The conference, which had not been held in Canada since 1989, attracted over 450 registrants from 40 countries.  Plenary lecturers included Bassam Shakhashiri of the University of Wisconsin and past president of the American Chemical Society, whose address was highlighted by vibrant demonstrations; University of Toronto Nobel laureate, John Polanyi, who addressed “How Discoveries are Made and Why it Matters|; Hsin-Kai Wu of the National Taiwan Normal University, who presented her research on the use of representations in chemistry teaching; Diane Bunce of the Catholic University

Professor Paul Piunno is the recipient of this year’s (2014-15) University of Toronto Mississauga Teaching Excellence Award

23 Jul 2014 - 9:06am

Chemical and Physical Sciences Department congratulates Professor Paul Piunno for winning the Teaching excellence Award in undergraduate teaching at the University of Toronto Mississauga. This award recognizes teaching, which includes lecturing, involvement in seminars and tutorials, individual and group discussion, laboratory teaching and other means by which students derive educational benefit.  Teaching effectiveness is demonstrated by the degree to which the faculty member is able to stimulate and challenge the intellectual ability of students, to communicate academic material

Latest News - Graduate Student Updates and Awards

11 Jul 2014 - 11:17am

Sina Haftchenary, PhD Candidate (Supervisor Patrick Gunning) has been awarded NSERC's 2014 Postdoctoral Fellowship (PDF), which goes annually to the top new graduates in Canada and the Department. Read more...

Professor Ulrich Fekl receives $ 110,000 "New Directions" grant from the Petroleum Research Fund (ACS).

9 Jul 2014 - 11:11am

The topic of this research is: "Metals at Tripodal Sites of Adamantane and Graphane-like Surfaces of Nano-diamonds: A Unified Strategy for Petroleum-derived Materials from the Molecular to the Nano-Scale". Professor Ulrich Fekl has opened positions for new graduate students to join this project.

Connaught Summer Institute on Synthetic Biology (June 2-6)

11 Jun 2014 - 2:53pm

Professor David McMillen along with Sergio Peisajovich (CSB), Brian Ingalls (Waterloo Math), and Emina Veletanlic (Impact Centre), organised and ran the first annual Connaught Summer Institute on Synthetic Biology (June 2-6). This workshop is sponsored by U of T’s Connaught Fund, which is the largest internal research funding program in Canada, with $4 million invested annually in emerging and established U of T scholars. This award was given to Prof. David McMillen, with Professors Sergio Peisajovich and Krishna Mahadevan as co-investigators.