U of T Mississauga Quick Facts

U of T Mississauga Fact Sheet 2020-2021

Image of campus photographed from plane in 2011

­­­U of T Mississauga was established in 1967, with one temporary academic building, 155 students, 28 faculty and 40 staff members. The campus has grown to become the second-largest division of U of T (Canada’s largest university). UTM now includes over 15,000 undergraduate students and 860 graduate students, over 3,500 full- and part-time employees (including 1,245 permanent faculty and staff) as well as over 62,000 alumni.

  • The campus is situated on 225 acres of protected greenbelt along the Credit River, 33 kilometres west of the university’s St. George campus in Toronto.
  • Award-winning facilities include the Terrence Donnelly Health Sciences Complex, the Instructional Centre, the Hazel McCallion Academic Learning Centre, the Recreation, Athletics and Wellness Centre, Deerfield Hall and the Communication, Culture and Technology building.
  • U of T Mississauga has 18 academic units (15 departments and three institutions), 155 programs and 94 areas of study, and includes: the Institute for Management & Innovation; the Institute for the Study of University Pedagogy; the Institute of Communication, Culture, Information and Technology; the Centre for South Asian Civilizations; and the Centre for Urban Environments. The Mississauga Academy of Medicine is located on campus in the Terrence Donnelly Health Sciences Complex.
  • Along with traditional undergraduate, master’s and doctoral programs, U of T Mississauga offers several highly sought-after degree options, such as a Bachelor of Business Administration, a Master of Biomedical Communications, a Master of Biotechnology, a Master of Management and Professional Accounting, a Master of Management of Innovation, a Master of Science in Sustainability Management, a Master of Forensic Accounting, a Master of Urban Innovation and a Master of Science in Occupational Therapy.
  • U of T Mississauga and Sheridan College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning offer joint programs in theatre and drama studies; art and art history; and communication, culture and information technology.
  • UTM’s newest building, Maanjiwe nendamowinan, opened in 2018 and was dedicated in 2019 with an Anishinaabemowin name meaning “Gathering of Minds.” The 210,000-square-foot, six-storey building houses classrooms, as well as the Departments of English and Drama, Philosophy, Historical Studies, Language Studies, Political Science and Sociology.
  • Famous U of T Mississauga alumni include astronaut Dr. Roberta Bondar, filmmaker Richie Mehta, Canadian media executive Kirstine Stewart, actor and diplomat Zaib Shaikh, writer/poet Dionne Brand and poet Wali Shah.
  • U of T Mississauga is involved in numerous community and civic initiatives, including the Mississauga Board of Trade, Advantage Mississauga, the Healthy City Stewardship Centre, the Research Innovation and Commercialization Centre and United Way Greater Toronto.

Printable PDF version

For more information:
Jane Stirling, 905-569-4350

We wish to acknowledge this land on which the University of Toronto operates. For thousands of years, it has been the traditional land of the Huron-Wendat, the Seneca, and most recently, the Mississaugas of the Credit River. Today, this meeting place is still the home to many Indigenous people from across Turtle Island and we are grateful to have the opportunity to work on this land.