Past Events

2017-2018 Past Events 

2018 Past Events

May 2018

Friday, May 11, 2018 (LAS):

Truthfulness in Photography: The Photoplastic Mexican Montages of Josef Albers 

Thursday, May 3 - 5, 2018:

International Conference on Religion & Film:

April 2018

April 26 - May 26, 2018:

Queering Family Photography: Roundtable  

Wednesday, April 4, 2018:

RLG401H: Lectures on Religion and Literature 

March 2018

Monday, March 26, 2018 (CSAC):

Centre for South Asian Civilizations and Politics Research Workshop: Left Politics in South Asia - Past, Present, Future.

Friday, March 23, 2018 (HSS):

#FNLROM: EQUINOX 

Friday, March 23, 2018:

HIS498Y: History Internship Student Presentations 

Friday, March 23, 2018:

RLG401H: Lectures on Religion and Literature - Topics include: video games, Watchmen, Superman, Star Wars, and zombie comics.

Thursday, March 22 & Friday, March 23, 2018 - MENA Conference (WGS):

International Conference on “MENA Women: From Street Protest to Online Activism”, March 22nd and 23rd, 2018.

Monday, March 19, 2018 (HSS):

First Annual Prandium Undergraduate Research Conference

Friday, March 16, 2018:

HIS498Y: History Internship Student Presentations

Thursday, March 15, 2018:

Classics and the World Today 2: Authority and Non-Conformity in the Ancient World

Tuesday, March 13, 2018 (HSS):

 Defiant Braceros - Dr. Mireya Loza

Tuesday, March 13, 2018 (CSAC):

Colloquium Keynote: Aesthesia and Anaesthesia in Vaisnava Liturgy and Metaphysics - Dr. Ronald Inden

Tuesday, March 13, 2018:

Colloquium: Humanity is the Measure of All Things: A Colloquium Exploring Late Antiquity's Intellectual and Spiritual Diversity

Friday, March 9, 2018 (Feminist Lunchtime Talks):

Policing Black Lives: Panel with Robyn Maynard, author of Policing Black Lives, Beverly Bain of WGS, and Sheena Hoszko, Sculptor and Anti-Prison Organizer

Thursday, March 8, 2018:

Lecture with Dr. Jessica Stites Mor: Human Rights and Transnational Solidarity in Latin America

Tuesday, March 6, 2018 (WGS):

Lecture with Dr. Sirma Bilge: Minority Knowledges, Academic Entrepreneurial Selves, and Neoliberal University: Learning from the Institutional Trajectories of Intersectionality

Tuesday, March 6, 2018 (CSAC):

Screening of the award-winning film Chauthi Koot

Friday, March 2, 2018 (HSS):

Historical Studies Society Annual Trivia Night

Friday, March 2, 2018 (HSS):

Historical Studies Society General Meeting

Thursday, March 1, 2018 (HSS):

HSS Presents: Seeing Capitalism's Ghosts: Labour, Migration, and Human Rights in 20th Century United States - Erica Toffoli

February 2018

Monday, February 26, 2018:

Paper Proposals for the First Annual Prandium Undergraduate Research Conference Due 

Thursday, February 1, 2018:

Humanities and Social Sciences Career Night 

January 2018

Friday, January 26, 2018 (CSAC):

RAJAN! Movie Night

Friday, January 26, 2018 (HSS):

HSS General Meeting 

Thursday, January 25, 2018 (HSS):

HSS Presentation of Victor Frankenstein 

Wednesday, January 10, 2018 (Feminist Lunchtime Talks Series):

 Indigenizing Institutions - Jill Carter, Tarah Hogue, Denise Booth McLeod, and Kris Noakes - Moderated by Nicole Laliberte

2017 Past Events

December 2017

Tuesday, December 5, 2017:

EXAM JAM! 

November 2017

Wednesday, November 29, 2017 (Historical Studies Society):

 Exclusive screening of Warehoused: The Forgotten Refugees of Dadaab 

Wednesday, November 29, 2017 (Feminist Lunchtime Talks Series):

Tea Time: Mapping Informal Networks of Women Living with HIV - Jessica Lynn Whitbread and Mercy Lillian Gichuki

Tuesday, November 28, 2017:

Professor Mohamad Tavakoli-Targhi , Orientalism and Occidentalism Undergraduate Symposium 

Thursday, November 16, 2017:

Indo-Caribbean Feminist Thought: Theory and Praxis with Dr. Gabrielle Hosein and Dr. Lisa Outar

Sunday, November 12, 2017:

 Kudiyattam: Ancient Drama in the Present

Saturday, November 11, 2017:

 Professor Julie MacArthur, Borders Matter: Mapping and Unmapping African History - part of TEDxUTM 2017.

Tuesday, November 7, 2017:

Professor Julie MacArthur, Screening History (HIS211) - Special Guest, acclaimed Canadian filmmaker Clement Virgo (TV series, The Book of Negroes) 

Tuesday, November 7, 2017:

Professor Emeritus Robert Johnson - October Surprise: The Global Impact of the 1917 October Revolution 

Friday, November 3, 2017 (Historical Studies Society):

 #FNLROM: VALHALLA

October 2017

Thursday, October 5, 2017:

Conference on South Asian Religions

Friday, October 6, 2017:

Conference on South Asian Religions

Tuesday, October 17, 2017:

Professor Chris Petrakos - "The Joke's on Them: Laughter and Social Boundaries in Klondike Miner's Tales, 1886-1896" - Part of the UTM EEO Lecture Me! Series

Thursday, October 25, 2017:

Dr. Hossein Elahi Ghomshei - "On the Nature of Poetry" 

Thursday, October 26, 2017:

"Invisible No More" by Andrea J. Ritchie - Book Launch and Panel Discussion 

Thursday, October 27, 2017 (Historical Studies Society):

AGO - Featured: the Guillermo Del Toro Exhibit

Thursday, October 27, 2017 (Historical Studies Society:

Professors Cowan, Petrakos, and Derry - 95 Theses 500th Anniversary Panel 

Thursday, October 27, 2017:

Dr. Leonard Lewisohn - "Sufism & the Religion of Love" 

Thursday, October 28, 2017:

Dr. Jane Lewisohn - "Preserving and Archiving Persian Performing Arts and Literature"