Past Principals

Professor Deep Saini (2010-2016)Deep Saini

Saini is currently the Vice-Chancellor and President of the University of Canberra, in Australia. He began his academic career in 1982 at the University of Alberta and subsequently served as the Director-General of the Plant Biology Research Institute at the Université de Montréal and Dean of the Faculty of Environment at the University of Waterloo.

Professor Ian Orchard (2002-2010)Ian Orchard

Orchard, who holds the title of Distinguished University Professor of biology, most recently served as vice-president (academic) and provost at the University of Waterloo. At U of T, he has held positions as associate dean (sciences) in the Faculty of Arts and Science (1993-97); vice-dean in the Faculty of Arts and Science (1997-98); and vice-provost (students) (1998-2002) before becoming the vice-president of the University of Toronto and principal of UTM.

Professor Robert H. McNutt (1995-2002)Robert McNutt

McNutt served for seven years as the principal of UTM (formerly Erindale College). He is now a professor emeritus at McMaster University, where he served as chair of the Department of Geology and as dean of the Faculty of Science, and acting chair of Modern Languages and Linguistics.

Professor Desmond Morton (1986-1991, 1992-1995)Desmond Morton

He served a three-year term as Erindale’s vice-principal, humanities and became the vice-principal, academic, under his administrative mentor, Paul Fox. Morton succeeded Fox as principal in 1986, while continuing to write and teach. Morton, now retired, is the Hiram Mills professor of history at McGill University, as well as the past-director of the McGill Institute for the Study of Canada.

Professor Paul Fox (1976-1986)Paul Fox

Paul Fox, a specialist in the Canadian political process and leadership theories, worked at U of T as a professor of political science, a position he held for 25 years. He served as the fourth and longest-serving principal of Erindale College, and played an influential role in the creation of community partnerships between Erindale and the City of Mississauga. In recognition of his dedication and service to Erindale, the college established the Paul W. Fox Award in 1980.

Professor E.A. “Peter” Robinson (1974-1976)Peter Robinson

E.A. “Peter” Robinson arrived in Canada in 1958, and joined the University of Toronto faculty in 1961 as an assistant professor of chemistry and moved west five years later to help create Erindale. Robinson served variously as first associate dean, acting dean, dean and principal as the new campus took shape. He worked closely with the first working principal, J. Tuzo Wilson, who then passed the torch to him.

Professor J. Tuzo Wilson (1967-1974)Tuzo Wilson

John Tuzo Wilson earned U of T’s first bachelor of arts degree in geophysics in 1930. He also earned a B.Sc. from the University of Cambridge (1932) and PhD from Princeton (1936). Wilson, known worldwide for his theory of plate tectonics, served as Erindale College’s second principal from 1967-1974 and later as the director-general of the Ontario Science Centre.

Professor D. Carleton Williams (1966-1967)Carleton Williams

After completing undergraduate studies in his home province of Manitoba and pursuing graduate studies in psychology at the University of Toronto in 1940, Williams served as an officer in the RCAF during the Second World War. Following the war, he returned to Toronto, where he became vice-president of two new colleges at Erindale and Scarborough before being recruited as Western University's fifth president.