Faculty

 

Jennifer Adese

Jennifer Adese, Associate Professor

  • Office: MN6226
  • Email: jennifer.adese@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC302H5, SOC332H5
  • Office Hours: Wed 1:30 - 3:30pm
  • Specialization: Indigenous Studies, Race, Racism, and Racialization, Indigenous Resistance Movements, Colonization and Decolonization, Literary Criticism
Prof. Zaheer Baber

Zaheer Baber, Professor (on Sabbatical July 1 - Dec 31, 2019)

  • Office: MN6260   
  • Email: zaheer.baber@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC231H5
  • Specialization: Social Theory, Science, Technology and Society
Jayne Baker

Jayne Baker, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream (on Sabbatical July 1, 2019 - June 30, 3020)

  • Office: MN6268 
  • Email: jayne.baker@utoronto.ca
  • Phone: 905-828-3948
  • Current Courses:
  • Specialization: Gender, Education
Shyon Baumann

Shyon Baumann, Professor 

  • Office: MN6290
  • Email: shyon.baumann@utoronto.ca 
  • Current Courses: SOC221H5, SOC384H5, SOC416H5
  • Office Hours: Tues 1 - 2 & 5 - 5:30pm
  • Specialization: Sociological Study of Media, Culture and Arts
Ellen Berrey

Ellen Berrey, Associate Professor 

  • Office: MN6254
  • Email: ellen.berrey@utoronto.ca   
  • Current Courses: SOC216H5, SOC311H5, SOC323H5, SOC401H5
  • Office Hours: Thurs 1 - 2:45pm & By Appt 5:15 - 6:30pm
  • Specialization: Law and Society, Race and Racism, Cultural Sociology, Organizations, Environmental Sociology
Hae Yeon Choo

Hae Yeon Choo, Associate Professor

  • Office: MN6244
  • Email: hy.choo@utoronto.ca 
  • Current Courses: SOC100H5, SOC425H5
  • Office Hours: Mon 1 - 3pm
  • Specialization: Gender and Sexuality, Urban Sociology, Immigration and Ethnicity   
Cynthia Cranford

Cynthia Cranford, Associate Professor

  • Office: MN6234 
  • Email: c.cranford@utoronto.ca
  • Phone: 905-569-4701
  • Current Courses: SOC341H5, SOC352H5, SOC387H5, SOC412H5 
  • Office Hours: Thurs & Fri 2 - 3pm
  • Specialization: Gender and Family, Stratification, Work, and Labour Markets
Ronit Dinovitzer

Ronit Dinovitzer, Professor

  • Office: MN6286  
  • Email: ronit.dinovitzer@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses:  SOC216H5, SOC342H5, SOC355H5, SOC475H5
  • Specialization: Stratification, Work and Labor Markets, Social Policy, Social Inequality
Prof. Jerry Flores

Jerry Flores, Assistant Professor

  • Office: MN6206
  • Email: jerry.flores@utoronto.ca   
  • Current Courses: SOC209H5, SOC330H5
  • Office Hours: Fri 1 - 2pm
  • Specialization: Studies of Gender and Crime, Prison Studies, Alternative Schools, Ethnographic Research Methods, Latina/o Sociology, Correctional Education, Intersectionality and Criminology, and Studies of Race and Ethnicity
Philip Goodman

Phil Goodman, Associate Professor and Associate Chair, Undergraduate - Criminology, Law & Society

  • Office: MN6248
  • Email: p.goodman@utoronto.ca
  • Phone: 905-569-4594
  • Current Courses: SOC205H5
  • Office Hours: Mon 3:15 - 5pm
  • Specialization: Criminology, Law and Society
Robin Gray

Robin Gray, Assistant Professor

  • Office: MN6296
  • Email: robin.gray@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC202H5, SOC415H5, SOC455H5
  • Office Hours: Mon 3 - 5pm
  • Specialization: Socio-cultural Anthropology, Indigenous Studies, Critical Race and Ethnic Studies, Knowledge and Power, Critical Cultural Heritage, Ethnography, Research Ethics, Indigenous Methodologies
JHaag

Julius Haag, Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream

  • Office: MN6256
  • Email:   julius.haag@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC326H5, SOC379H5, SOC447H5
  • Office Hours: Tues 12 - 2 (SOC326) & Wed 11:20 - 2 (SOC379)
  • Specialization: Policing, Race and Crime, Youth Justice, Criminology
Steve Hoffman

Steve Hoffman, Assistant Professor

  • Office: MN6210
  • Email: steve.hoffman@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC231H5, SOC463H5
  • Office Hours: Tues 11 - 12:30pm
  • Specialization: Theory, Qualitative Research Methods, Science, Technology and Knowledge, Cultural Sociology, Organizations, Political Sociology, Social Policy
Nathan Innocente

Nathan Innocente, Associate Professor, Teaching Stream (on Sabbatical July 1, 2019 - June 30, 2020)

  • Office: MN6284
  • Email: nathan.innocente@utoronto.ca
  • Phone: 905-828-3945
  • Current Courses:
  • Specialization: Criminology, Law and Society, Stratification, Work and Labour Markets
Josee Johnston

Josee Johnston, Professor

  • Office: MN6292
  • Email: josee.johnston@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC317H5, SOC336H5, SOC349H5
  • Office Hours: Fri 1:30 - 2:30pm
  • Specialization: Sociology of Culture, Sociology of Food, Environmental Sociology, Gender
John Kervin

John Kervin, Professor 

  • Office: MN6240
  • Email: john.kervin@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC227H5, SOC361H5, SOC361H5 and SOC412H5
  • Office Hours: Wed 1 - 3pm & Thurs 1:30 - 2:30pm
  • Specialization: Work and Labour Markets, Gender
Anna Korteweg

Anna Korteweg, Professor & Chair 

  • Office: MN6230‚Äč 
  • Email: anna.korteweg@utoronto.ca
  • Phone: 905-828-5395 
  • Current Courses: SOC433H5
  • Office Hours: By Appointment
  • Specialization: Political Sociology, Gender and Immigration
Sida Liu

Sida Liu, Associate Professor

  • Office: MN6288
  • Email: sd.liu@utoronto.ca 
  • Current Courses: SOC100H5, SOC325H5
  • Office Hours: Tues 9:30 - 11:30am & Thurs 9:30 - 11:30am
  • Specialization: Law and Society, Organizations and Professions, Political Sociology, Social Theory
Neda Maghbouleh

Neda Maghbouleh, Assistant Professor

  • Office: MN6208
  • Email: neda.maghbouleh@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC221H5, SOC230H5, SOC375H5, SOC444H5
  • Office Hours: Fri 1 - 3pm & By Appt
  • Specialization: Race, Ethnicity, Immigration Diaspora, Youth
Prof. Paula Maurutto

Paula Maurutto, Associate Professor

  • Office: MN6236
  • Email: p.maurutto@utoronto.ca 
  • Phone:  905-828-5316
  • Current Courses: SOC316H5, SOC448H5, SOC480Y
  • Office Hours:Thurs 3 - 4:30 or by appt
  • Specialization: Criminology, Law and Society
Andrew Miles

Andrew Miles, Assistant Professor 

  • Office: MN6246
  • Email: andrew.miles@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC222H5
  • Specialization: Sociology of Culture, Social Psychology, Sociology of Morality, Theories of Action, Quantitative Methods
Melissa Milkie

Melissa Milkie, Professor

  • Office: MN6250
  • Email: melissa.milkie@utoronto.ca 
  • Phone: 905-828-5410
  • Current Courses: SOC318H5
  • Specialization: Health/Mental Health, Culture, Gender, Work and Family
AOBempah

Akwasi Owusu-Bempah, Assistant Professor

  • Office: MN6258
  • Email: a.o.bempah@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC209H5, SOC322H5
  • Office Hours: Fri 12 - 1pm
  • Specialization: Race, Crime and Criminal Justice, Policing
David Pettinicchio

David Pettinicchio, Assistant Professor

  • Office: MN6216
  • Email: d.pettinicchio@utoronto.ca   
  • Current Courses: SOC222H5 and SOC350H5, SOC429H5
  • Office Hours: Tues 11:15 - 12:45pm
  • Specialization: Social Policy, Political Sociology, Social Movements and Disability
Kristin Plys

Kristin Plys, Assistant Professor

  • Office: MN6204
  • Email: kristin.plys@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC236H5, SOC434H5, SOC439H5
  • Office Hours: Mon 1 - 3pm
  • Specialization: Political Economy, Development, Postcolonial Sociology, Labour and Labour Movements, Comparative and Historical Sociology, The Global South, South Asian Studies
 

Zachary Richer, Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream

  • Office: MN6294
  • Email:   zach.richer@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC211H5, SOC371H5, SOC420H5, SOC446H5
  • Office Hours: Wed 3:30 - 5:30pm & Thurs 11:30am - 1pm by appt
  • Specialization:    
Erik Schneiderhan

Erik Schneiderhan, Associate Professor and Associate Chair, Undergraduate - Sociology 

  • Office: MN6238
  • Email:  e.schneiderhan@utoronto.ca 
  • Current Courses: SOC206H5, SOC485H5
  • Office Hours: Thurs 12 - 1pm; 3 - 4pm
  • Specialization: Sociology of Genocide; Political Sociology
Luisa Farah Schwartzman

Luisa Farah Schwartzman, Associate Professor 

  • Office: MN6262
  • Email: luisa.fs@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC253H5, SOC327H5, SOC421H5, SOC440Y
  • Office Hours: Fri 3:15 - 4:15pm
  • Specialization: Race & Ethnicity
CSmith

Chris Smith, Assistant Professor 

  • Office: MN6202
  • Emailcm.smith@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC208H5, SOC365
  • Office Hours: Tues 2:30 - 4:30pm
  • Specialization:
Gail Super

Gail Super, Assistant Professor

  • Office: MN6224
  • Email: gail.super@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC205H5, SOC325H5, SOC351H5, SOC421
  • Office Hours: Tues 11:30 - 12:30; 3:30 - 4:30pm
  • Specialization: Criminology, Law and Society, Punishment and Society 
Weiguo Zhang

Weiguo Zhang, Associate Professor

  • Office: MN6212
  • Email: weiguo.zhang@utoronto.ca
  • Phone: 905-828-3943
  • Current Courses: SOC244H5, SOC334H5, SOC356H5, SOC444H5
  • Office Hours: Thurs 11am - 1pm
  • Specialization: Gender and Family