Octagon Winners

Digital Health Technology Annual Octagon in Health Data Science Competition

We had a record number of teams this year, with over 40 teams registering. This involved universities across Ontario (though this competition is open to all Canadian students) and several teaching hospitals.

2020 Winning Octagon Team ($5000 award)

Institution / Program:  McMaster Health Research Methodology program

Clockwise from top left: Hussein El-Khechen, M.Sc. (top left) , Sukrit Narula B.A. (top right, left in photo), Krutheeka Rajkumar, M.Eng. (top right, right in photo), Ricky Lali, M.Sc. (Bottom)

Octagon 2020 winners


Melanie Poulin-Costello, BMath, MSc, PStat
Director Biostatistics
Mississauga Biostatistics Site Head
Roche, Canada

Nicholas Mitsakakis, MSc, PhD, P.Stat.
Senior Biostatistician, Clinical Research Unit
Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario Research Institute
Adjunct Lecturer, Dalla Lana School of Public Health, University of Toronto
Adjunct Professor, Rady Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Manitoba

Stephen Noorduyn, M.Sc (Health Research Methodology)
Medical Evidence Lead
Astrazeneca, Canada

Short listed teams invited for their presentations:

Second Place

Ph.D. students at the Dalla Lana School of Public Health, University of Toronto:

  • Rebecca Christensen
  • Daniel Harris
  • Catharine Chambers
  • Kate St. Cyr

Third Place

Master’s students in the Digital Health Technology stream (MBiotech) at the University of Toronto Mississauga:

  • Christopher Di Pietrantonio
  • Rohan Parmar