The departmental deadline: March 8, 2017

University of Toronto Excellence Awards (UTEA)

Purpose: To provide undergraduate students with funding to conduct a summer research project under a faculty member's supervision. 

Value: $6,000

(The UTEA-SSH award is entirely funded by the Vice-President Research; the UTEA-NSE award requires a contribution of $1,125 by the supervising faculty member.) 

Duration: 14 full weeks in the summer term, between May 1 to September 30, 2017.

Please note the following:

  • The departmental deadline for receipt of applications is Wednesday, March 8, 2017.
  • The supervisor of a UTEA-SSH or UTEA-NSE recipient must be a faculty member holding a SSHRC or NSERC grant administered through UTM, either as the principal investigator or the co-applicant.
  • The applicant’s official transcript is to be attached to Part 1 of the application and given to the proposed supervisor.
  • For each UTEA award, the faculty supervisor must complete an application using the My Research – Applications (MRA) online system by the deadline, March 16: http://www.research.utoronto.ca/my-research/

NB: In order to submit the application, a document must be attached to the MRA record, so the UTEA proposal should be attached. 

For complete details on the program and eligibility criteria, please refer to the attached guidelines and application forms Part 1 and Part 2

Applications should be submitted to the Undergraduate Counselor in the MCS Department Office (3012 Deerfield Hall), no later than Wednesday, March 8, 2017

Please contact Rong Wu at rong.wu@utoronto.ca or 905-569-5768 with any questions you may have regarding this award opportunity.