IMI honours UTM students at 2016 awards night

IMI Awards 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016 - 4:39pm
Sarah Jane Silva

Another year of academic achievement was celebrated by the Institute for Management & Innovation at the Innovation Complex.

Students, alumni, faculty, staff and industry representatives were in attendance at the awards night – now in its second year.

After attending last year’s IMI Awards night, fourth-year Accounting Specialist Hassaan Saleem was especially excited to be there once again, as an award winner.

“This night was truly a display of the great things the Institute for Management & Innovation is doing, and the positive impact it’s having on the UTM community,” he said.

“I am excited to attend next year's Awards Night as an alumnus as well!"

A total of nineteen awards were handed out in seven categories, recognizing Commerce and Management students for their contributions in academic and student life, and community service.

The winners were chosen by a committee consisting of faculty, staff and student representatives from the Department of Management.

Afterwards, professional development directors Momal Naz and Pragya Narula from the Student Management Association (SMA) and the Undergraduate Commerce Society (UCS) recognized the 65 Director’s Circle recipients, the highest number to date.

The Director’s Circle is an honorary designation for those students who, within one year, have accumulated 25 professional development experience points.

The Professional Skills Development Program (PSDP) is split into six different categories: Know Yourself, Industry, Academic Development, Development Skills, Build Relationships and Job Search.

Students take part in the program throughout the year, and must receive a total of 46 professional skills development points throughout the course of their program in order to receive the designation.

Heather Hines, assistant director of operations and the brainchild behind the event, said the evening was an opportunity for the Institute to recognize and celebrate its hardworking, talented students.

Hines along with organizers Natasha Hanif, undergraduate program director, and Linnet Kocheril, undergraduate program assistant, felt it was important to continue to recognize those who go the extra mile to enhance the student experience, and embody the very spirit of IMI.

The awards and their recipients are as follows:

CPA Honour Roll

  • Inderroop Sahota

Global Citizen Service Award (Internal Focus) - contribution to peace, rights, education, environment or social justice with an impact on the U of T community

  • Eva Mitre

Global Citizen Service Award (External Focus) - contribution to peace, rights, education, environment or social justice with an impact on the wider community

  • Daniel Jayasinghe

Ambassador Award – graduating student who through their years at UTM volunteered or sought leadership opportunities with enthusiasm and professionalism

  • Mohamed Sidibe
  • Yuki Zhong

PSDP Champions – achieved the most PSDP points in one academic year, demonstrating their commitment to their own professional development and continuous learning

  • Patrick Gil
  • Arooj Shakeel
  • Andrea Koop

Academic Excellence Awards – graduating student with the highest CGPA within each specialization

  • Michael Mazze (Accounting)
  • Zhirong Zhang (Finance)
  • Ying Xu (Marketing)
  • Abhyuday Nahar (Commerce)
  • Yuki Zhong (Management)

Transition Titan Awards – demonstrated through their grades, activities and leveraging of campus resources, a successful transition

  • Joan Park
  • Sarah Girgis
  • Yu Shen
  • Juriza Via Nierva
  • Caityln Seale
  • Patrick Gil