Winners of the staff and faculty awards posing with prinicipal of U of T Mississauga

Awards celebrate faculty and staff service

Wednesday, December 4, 2013 - 10:01am
Gareth Trickey

A commitment to excellence and a passion for research and student success were recognized at this year’s U of T Mississauga Principal’s Awards Reception on December 2 in the Faculty Club.

Professor Deep Saini, Vice-President of U of T and Principal of U of T Mississauga joined students and colleagues in presenting the awards for contributions to the fields of Teaching Excellence, Research Excellence and Staff Services.

Saini spoke highly of this year’s recipients and thanked them for their outstanding services to the university.

“Universities are places of excellence and it is fitting we take a pause every now and again to recognize our colleagues and their contributions,” Saini said.

The event included heartfelt and at times emotional speeches from each of the four recipients and those who nominated them.

The recipient of the Faculty Teaching Excellence Award, Ken Derry a lecturer in the Department of Historical Studies, said the awards were a chance to celebrate the sense of teamwork and unified sense of mission that prevailed among the community of staff and students at U of T Mississauga.

Fellow recipients also praised the collaboration between support staff, faculty members and students as well as the encouragement of their families and friends.

Staff Service Award winner Sabrina Ferrari said she was honoured and humbled by the award.

“The high level of commitment and dedication at U of T Mississauga is something I’m proud to be a part of,” Ferrari said.

2013 Principal’s Awards Recipients

Teaching Excellence – Teaching Assistant
Diana Patzer 
Department of English and Drama 

Teaching Excellence – Faculty
Dr Ken Derry
Department of Historical Studies

Research Excellence
Professor Ian Orchard
Department of Biology

Staff Service
Sabrina Ferrari
Department of Geography