Student Academic Societies & Clubs

Click on a title below to learn more about that student society or club.

Academic Societies
LSAS- Language Studies Academic Society

Clubs

TESA- The Teaching and Educaton Studies Association

EFUTM- Les Étudiants Francophones de l’Université de Toronto - Mississauga

The University Of Toronto Mississauga Italian Student Association (UTM ISA)

Linguistics League

 


Language Studies Academic Society (LSAS)

Watch the LSAS Welcoming video!

LSAS is a student-run academic society, formed in 2011, on behalf of the Language Studies Department at UTM.  

Led by outstanding students, LSAS’s mandate is to enrich language learning at U of T Mississauga by providing students with an academic and social environment which fosters strong connections between the various programs of the Department.

LSAS aims to:

  • Provide opportunities for students to experience the international community at University of Toronto.
  • Connect 1st year students with their peers and faculty to enrich their academic experience.
  • Offer students the opportunity to explore career options by nurturing ties with the broader community.
  • Promote the Department of Language Studies.
     

LSAS Executive Team for 2019-2020:

  1. President/Vice President: Haowen Lin haowen.lin@mail.utoronto.ca
  2. Event/Activity Coordinator: Myra Ahtesham myra.ahtesham@mail.utoronto.ca
  3. VP Finance/Communications Directors: Dellania Segretti dellannia.segreti@mail.utoronto.ca
  4. Social Media/Marketing: Jessica Chan tszkei.chan@mail.utoronto.ca

New member sign-up:
https://forms.gle/raYX5PcCSWY5TvBn6

Follow us on social media:
Facebook: @utmLSAS for up-to-date events

 


The Teaching and Education Studies Association (TESA)

The Teaching and Education Studies Association (TESA) is a campus group dedicated to providing UTM students with information and events regarding post-graduate programs and careers, experiential opportunities, and various educational supports throughout UTM.  TESA hosts events such as OISE student & professor panels, applying to teachers college workshops, and exam review sessions. Anyone interested in Education Studies and teaching is welcome to join and volunteer.

LSAS Executive Team for 2020-2021:

  1. President: Anika Jacob anika.jacob@mail.utoronto.ca
  2. Vice President: Athena Curitti athena.curitti@mail.utoronto.ca
  3. Event Planner: Fatima Tasabehji fatima.tasabehji@mail.utoronto.ca
  4. Creative Director: Bernadette Costa bernadette.costa@mail.utoronto.ca
  5. Secretary: Julia Tang juliatzu.tang@mail.utoronto.ca
  6. Acountant: Nahil Al Zuhaika nahil.alzuhaika@mail.utoronto.ca
  7. Outreach Officer: Marjaan Mashhood marjaan.mashhood@mail.utoronto.ca

Follow us on social media:
Instagram @tesautm

 


Les Étudiants Francophones de l’Université de Toronto - Mississauga (EFUTM)

ÉFUTM is a student-run club in association with the Language Studies Department representing all francophones and francophiles at the University of Toronto Mississauga campus! Les Étudiants Francophones de l’Université de Toronto - Mississauga (ÉFUTM) is a conversation and social club for students of all levels of French. Come out and practice your French, meet other students, and have fun! 

  1. President: Sara Pagliaro sara.pagliaro@mail.utoronto.ca
  2. Communication Director: Alliana Meneses ruthalliana.meneses@mail.utoronto.ca
  3. Marketing Director: Julia Dela Cruz andie.delacruz@mail.utoronto.ca
  4. Event Planner: Areesha Imaan Siddiqui areesha.siddiqui@mail.utoronto.ca
  5. VP Finance: Fatima Tasabehji fatima.tasa9@gmail.com
  6. Executive Committee Member: Marie-Rebecca Nimi marie.nimi@hotmail.com

Follow us on social media:
Facebook: @EFUTM 
I
nstagram: @efutm

 


The University Of Toronto Mississauga Italian Student Association (UTM ISA)

The University Of Toronto Mississauga Italian Student Association (UTM ISA) is a club dedicated to promoting Italian culture and personal growth in Italian communication in a caring, respectful, and supportive environment. We provide students opportunities to broaden their knowledge of Italian culture and language through workshops, seminars, and other cultural events. We are always looking to grow meaning any student interested in Italian Heritage is welcome to join our club. 

UTM ISA Executive Team for 2020-2021:

  1. President: Beatrice Comello @ Beatrice.comello@mail.utoronto.ca
  2. Vice-President: Angelo Coluccio @ Angelo.coluccio@mail.utoronto.ca 
  3. Secretary: Elisa Schembre @ Elisa.Schembre@mail.utoronto.ca
  4. Marketing: Laura Crupi @ Laura.crupi@mail.utoronto.ca

Follow us on social media:

Instagram: @utmisa 
Email: utmisa@utmsu.ca 


Linguistics League

Linguistics League is a student society for students in linguistics courses. In the past the Linguistics League has hosted talks, games nights, movie showings, and graduate school information sessions. It is on temporary hiatus but we are actively looking for students to rejuvenate the group! If interested in being part of the executive team for 2020-2021, please contact Prof. Derek Denis at derek.denis@utoronto.ca.

Follow us on social media:
Facebook: @utmlinguisticsleague 
Instagram: @utmlinguisticsleague
Twitter: @UTMLL