ICCIT Faculty & Librarians

If you are interested in doctoral studies, please see PhD Studies

Guy Allen Profile Photo

Guy Allen, PhD
Associate Professor, Teaching Stream
Professional Writing and Communication Program Coordinator
Programs: PWC
Specialization: Expressive writing; publishing, writing teaching, learning and curriculum development; health and science writing
Email: guy.allen@utoronto.ca
Phone: 905-828-3900
Office: CCT 3002
Jeffrey Boase headshot Jeffrey Boase, PhD
Associate Professor
Programs: CCIT & Graduate Appointment at Faculty of Information
Specialization: Communication technology; Network analysis; Digital trace data; Cross-cultural research; Mobile communication
Currently accepting PhD students: Yes
Email: j.boase@utoronto.ca
Phone: 905-569-4899
Office: CCT 3073
Marie-Pier Boucher headshot

 

Marie-Pier Boucher, PhD
Assistant Professor 
Programs: CCIT; Graduate Appointment at Faculty of Information
Specialization: Media Studies, STS, Biotechnology, Health, Environment, Outer space, Urban Studies and Architectural Design, Art History and Communication Studies
Currently accepting PhD students: TBA
Email: mariepier.boucher@utoronto.ca
Phone: 905-569-4732
Office: CCT 4009
 
Olga Bountali headshot Olga Bountali, PhD
Assistant Professor
(Cross-appointed with Department of Management)
Email: olga.bountali@utoronto.ca
Phone: 905-569-4292
Office: CCT 3065
Geoff Bouvier Profile Photo Geoff Bouvier, PhD
Assistant Professor of Creative Writing, Teaching Stream
Email: geoff.bouvier@utoronto.ca
Phone: TBA
Office: UTM, Maanjiwe nendamowinan, 5th Floor, RM 5296 /td>
Tracey Bowen headshot Tracey Bowen, PhD
Associate Director,
Associate Professor, Teaching Stream and Internship Coordinator
Programs: CCIT, DEM and PWC
Specialization: Visual Communications; experiential education; student identity construction
Email: tracey.bowen@utoronto.ca
Phone: 905-569-4960
Office: CCT 3028
Brett Caraway headshot Brett Caraway, PhD
Assistant Director, Digital Enterprise Management
Associate Professor
Programs: CCIT, DEM; Cross-Appointment at Institute for Management & Innovation, and Faculty of Information
Specialization: Media economics, Internet law, innovation studies, sustainability management, ecological economics
Currently accepting PhD students: No
Email: brett.caraway@utoronto.ca
Website: http://brettcaraway.com
Phone: 905 569 4503
Office: CCT 3008
Julie Chen headshot Yujie (Julie) Chen, PhD
Assistant Professor 
Programs: CCIT; Graduate Appointment at Faculty of Information
Specialization: Digital Media, digital labour studies, platform studies, political economy of ICTS
Currently accepting PhD students: TBA
Email: julieyj.chen@utoronto.ca
Phone: 905-828-5489
Office: CCT 4002
Nicole Cohen headshot Nicole Cohen, PhD (on Leave)
Associate Professor 
Programs: CCIT and PWC; Graduate Appointment at Faculty of Information
Specialization: Political economy of communication; Labour, work and organizing in media and cultural industries; digital journalism
Currently accepting PhD students: Yes
Email: nicole.cohen@utoronto.ca
Website: nicolescohen.com
Office: CCT 3073
Beth Coleman headshot Beth Coleman, PhD
Associate Professor 
Programs: CCIT and DEM; Graduate Appointment at Faculty of Information
Specialization: Critical race theory, big data, game studies, media theory, transmedia art and design
Currently accepting PhD students: TBA
Email: beth.coleman@utoronto.ca
Phone: 905-569-4706
Office: CCT 4013
 
 Prof. John Currie headshot John Currie, PhD
Lecturer
Programs: PWC
Specialization: Expressive writing; journalism; science and environmental writing; ESL
Email: john.currie@utoronto.ca
Phone: 416 946 5112
Office: CCT 4003
Negin Dahya headshot

Negin Dahya, PhD
Assistant Professor 
Programs: CCIT; Graduate Appointment at Faculty of Information
Specialization: Digital media & learning, refugee education and technology, feminist theory and methodology, critical race theory, postcolonial theory, science and technology studies, visual research methods 
Currently accepting PhD students: Yes
Email: negin.dahya@utoronto.ca
Website: negindahya.com
Phone: 905-828-3969
Office: CCT 4007

Alessandro Delfanti headshot Alessandro Delfanti, PhD
Associate Professor
Programs: CCIT and PWC; Graduate Appointment at Faculty of Information
Specialization: Science and Technology Studies; Technology and Labour; Hacking; Political Economy of Communication/Information; Scholarly Publishing
Currently accepting PhD students: Yes
Email: a.delfanti@utoronto.ca
Website: www.delfanti.org
Phone: 905 569 4335
Office: CCT 3079
Prof. Tero Karppi headshot Tero Karppi, PhD
Assistant Professor 
Programs: CCIT; Graduate Appointment at Faculty of Information
Currently accepting PhD students: Yes
Specialization: Critical/cultural studies of social media platforms; affect theory; non-human theories; computational culture. 
Email: tero.karppi@utoronto.ca
Website: terokarppi.com
Phone: 905 569 4652
Office: CCT 3079
Kate Maddalena headshot Kate Maddalena, PhD
Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream
Programs: CCIT 
Specialization: media theory; rhetoric of science, technology, and medicine (RSTM); technical writing; science writing pedagogy
Email: kate.maddalena@utoronto.ca
Phone: TBA
Office: TBA
Sara Martel headshot Sara Martel (status-only)
Assistant Professor 
Programs: CCIT 
Specialization: Media, Health & Illness
Email: sara.martel@thp.ca
 
Rhonda McEwen headshot Rhonda N. McEwen, PhD
ICCIT Director and Associate Professor
Programs: CCIT and DEM; Graduate Appointment at Faculty of Information
Specialization: Social/New media; network analysis; mobile communication; information practices
Currently accepting PhD students: Yes
Email: rhonda.mcewen@utoronto.ca
Website: http://individual.utoronto.ca/rmcewen
Blog: http://rnmcewen.blogspot.com/
Phone: 905 569 4346
Office: CCT 3014
Cosmin Munteanu headshot Cosmin Munteanu, PhD
Assistant Professor 
Programs: CCIT and DEM; Graduate Appointment at Faculty of Information
Specialization: Human Computer Interaction, New Media, Mobile and Multimodal Interaction, Spoken Language Interaction, Intelligent and Natural User Interfaces, Assistive Technologies, Mixed Reality Systems, Personal Learning Assistants, Interactive Technologies to Support Older Adults.
Currently accepting PhD students: Yes
Email: cosmin.munteanu@utoronto.ca
Website: http://cosmin.taglab.ca
Phone: 905-569-4294
Office: CCT 3067
Prof. Michael Nixon headshot Michael Nixon, PhD
Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream
Programs: CCIT and DEM
Specialization: Al(agents), Human-computer interaction, Game design, Game studies.
Email: michael.nixon@utoronto.ca
Phone: 905-828-5393
Office: CCT 3083
Prof. Jeremy Packer headshot Jeremy Packer, PhD
Professor
Associate Dean, Graduate
Currently accepting PhD students: Yes
Specialization:
Media History; Mobility Studies;  Military and Autonomous Technologies;  Media Theory; Cultural Studies.
Email: jeremy.packer@utoronto.ca
Phone: 905-569-5772
Office: CCT 3077
 Prof. Robert Price headshot Robert Price, PhD
Lecturer
Programs: Professional Writing and Communication Program
Specialization: Expressive writing; the reader-writer relationship; voice, expression, and personhood; writing pedagogy
Email: robert.price@utoronto.ca
Website: robertgrantprice.com
Phone: 416 946 5127
Office: CCT3009
 Sarah Sharma headshot Sarah Sharma, PhD
Associate Professor
Director of the McLuhan Centre for Culture and Technology
Currently accepting PhD students: Yes
Specialization:
Feminist Technology; Media and Temporality; Media Theory; Technology and Labour; Cultural Studies.
Email: sarah.sharma@utoronto.ca
Website: https://www.mcluhancentre.ca
                http://sarahsharma.com
Phone: 905-569-5773
Office: CCT 3077
Steve Szigeti headshot Steve Szigeti, PhD
Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream
Programs: CCIT and DEM
Specialization: Experiential education, design thinking, human computer interaction, data visualization, new media, game design
Email: steve.szigeti@utoronto.ca
Phone: 905-569-4707
Office: Zoom video by appointment
Office Hours: Email for appointment during Fall 2020 term
Lilia Topouzova headshot Lilia Topouzova, PhD
Assistant Professor 
Programs: PWC and CCIT
Specialization: Narrative non-fiction, film documentaries, documentary script writing, historical writing, archival research, oral history
Currently accepting PhD students: TBA
Email: lilia.topouzova@utoronto.ca
Phone: TBA
Office: CCT 3004
Anthony Wensley headshot Anthony Wensley, PhD (On Leave)
Associate Professor
(Primary Appointment in the Department of Management)
Programs: DEM and CCIT
Currently accepting PhD students: Yes
Email: anthony.wensley@utoronto.ca
Phone: 905-569-4733
Office: CCT 3005
Gabor Virag Profile Photo Gabor Virag, PhD
Associate Professor
(Cross-appointed with Department of Management)
Programs: DEM
Specialization: Auction theory; economics of the internet; consumer and labour market search; political economy
Email: gabor.virag@utoronto.ca
Website: http://www.rotman.utoronto.ca/facbios/viewFac.asp?facultyID=Gabor.Virag
Phone: 905-569-4505
Office: KN 230
 

Librarians

Kathleen Scheaffer Profile Photo

Kathleen Scheaffer
Learning and Research Coordinator, Librarian
Programs: CCIT
Email: Kathleen.scheaffer@utoronto.ca
Office: CCT 4th floor

Mike Serafin Profile Photo

Mike Serafin
Library Technologies & Liaison Librarian
Specialization: Liaison Librarian for ICCIT, Computer Science, Mathematics, and Statistics.
Email: mike.serafin@utoronto.ca
Phone: 416-580-4912
Office: Library, room 374