ICCIT FACULTY

If you are interested in doctoral studies, please see PhD Studies

Guy Allen Profile Photo

Guy Allen, PhD
Associate Professor, Teaching Stream
Professional Writing and Communication Program Coordinator
Programs: PWC
Specialization: Expressive writing; publishing, writing teaching, learning and curriculum development; health and science writing
Email: guy.allen@utoronto.ca
Phone: 905-828-3900
Office: CCT 3002
Jeffrey Boase Profile Photo Jeffrey Boase, PhD
Associate Professor
Programs: CCIT, DEM & Graduate Appointment at Faculty of Information
Specialization: Communication technology; Network analysis; Digital trace data; Cross-cultural research; Mobile communication
Currently accepting PhD students: Yes
Email: j.boase@utoronto.ca
Phone: 905-569-4899
Office: CCT 3073
Marie-Pier Boucher Profile Photo

 

Marie-Pier Boucher, PhD
Assistant Professor 
Programs: CCIT and IDM; Graduate Appointment at Faculty of Information
Specialization: Health, biotechnology, AI, architectural design, art history and communication studies
Currently accepting PhD students: TBA
Email: TBA
Website: TBA
Phone: TBA
Olga Bountali Profile Photo Olga Bountali, PhD
Assistant Professor
(Cross-appointed with Department of Management)
Email: olga.bountali@utoronto.ca
Phone: 905-569-4292
Office: CCT 3065
Tracey Bowen Profile Photo Tracey Bowen, PhD (on Leave)
Associate Director,
Associate Professor, Teaching Stream and Internship Coordinator
Programs: CCIT, DEM, IDM and PWC
Specialization: Multi-modal literacies; experiential education; student identity construction
Email: tracey.bowen@utoronto.ca
Phone: 905-569-4960
Office: CCT 3028
Brett Caraway Profile Photo Brett Caraway, PhD (on Leave)
Associate Professor
Programs: CCIT, DEM and IDM; Graduate Appointment at Faculty of Information
Specialization: New media; Intellectual property; Technology studies; Cultural resistance; Political economy of communication
Currently accepting PhD students: No
Email: brett.caraway@utoronto.ca
Phone: 905 569 4503
Office: CCT 3008
Julie Chen Profile Photo

 

Julie Chen, PhD
Assistant Professor 
Programs: CCIT and IDM; Graduate Appointment at Faculty of Information
Specialization: Digital Media, digital labour issues, mobile applications and media
Currently accepting PhD students: TBA
Email: TBA
Website: TBA
Phone: TBA
Nicole Cohen Profile Photo

 

Nicole Cohen, PhD
Associate Professor 
Programs: CCIT and IDM; Graduate Appointment at Faculty of Information
Specialization: Political economy of communication and social media; Labour, work and organizing in media and cultural industries; digital journalism and new digital publishing models; alternative media and media activism
Currently accepting PhD students: Yes
Email: nicole.cohen@utoronto.ca
Website: nicolescohen.com
Phone: 905-828-3906
Office: CCT 3004
Beth Coleman Profile Photo

 

Beth Coleman, PhD
Associate Professor 
Programs: CCIT and IDM; Graduate Appointment at Faculty of Information
Specialization: Critical race theory, big data, game studies, media theory, transmedia art and design
Currently accepting PhD students: TBA
Email: beth.coleman@utoronto.ca
Website: TBA
Phone: TBA
 Prof. John Currie profile photo John Currie, PhD
Lecturer
Programs: PWC
Specialization: Expressive writing; journalism; science and environmental writing; ESL
Email: john.currie@utoronto.ca
Phone: 416 946 5112
Office: CCT 4003
Negin Dahya Profile Photo

 

Negin Dahya, PhD
Assistant Professor 
Programs: CCIT and IDM; Graduate Appointment at Faculty of Information
Specialization: Refugee Education and Technology, Digital Media and Learning, Gender Studies
Currently accepting PhD students: TBA
Email: negin.dahya@utoronto.ca
Website: TBA
Phone: TBA
Alessandro Delfanti Profile Photo Alessandro Delfanti, PhD
Assistant Professor
Programs: CCIT and PWC; Graduate Appointment at Faculty of Information
Specialization: Science and Technology Studies; Technology and Labour; Hacking; Political Economy of Communication/Information; Scholarly Publishing
Currently accepting PhD students: Yes
Email: a.delfanti@utoronto.ca
Website: www.delfanti.org
Phone: 905 569 4335
Office: CCT 3071
Prof. Tero Karppi profile photo Tero Karppi, PhD
Assistant Professor 
Programs: CCIT; Graduate Appointment at Faculty of Information
Currently accepting PhD students: Yes
Specialization: Critical/cultural studies of social media platforms; affect theory; non-human theories; computational culture. 
Email: tero.karppi@utoronto.ca
Website: terokarppi.com
Phone: 905 569 4652
Office: CCT 3079
Rhonda McEwen Profile Photo Rhonda N. McEwen, PhD
ICCIT Director and Associate Professor
Programs: CCIT and IDM; Graduate Appointment at Faculty of Information
Specialization: Social/New media; network analysis; mobile communication; information practices
Currently accepting PhD students: Yes
Email: rhonda.mcewen@utoronto.ca
Website: http://individual.utoronto.ca/rmcewen
Blog: http://rnmcewen.blogspot.com/
Phone: 905 569 4346
Office: CCT 3014
Prof. Cosmin Munteanu image Cosmin Munteanu, PhD
Assistant Professor 
Programs: CCIT and IDM; Graduate Appointment at Faculty of Information
Specialization: Human Computer Interaction, New Media, Mobile and Multimodal Interaction, Spoken Language Interaction, Intelligent and Natural User Interfaces, Assistive Technologies, Mixed Reality Systems, Personal Learning Assistants, Interactive Technologies to Support Older Adults.
Currently accepting PhD students: Yes
Email: cosmin.munteanu@utoronto.ca
Website: http://cosmin.taglab.ca
Phone: 905-569-4294
Office: CCT 3067
Prof. Michael Nixon profile photo Michael Nixon, PhD
Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream
Programs: CCIT and IDM
Specialization: Human Computer Interaction, Game Design, Game Studies
Email: michael.nixon@utoronto.ca
Phone: 905-828-5393
Office: CCT 3083
Prof. Jeremy Packer profile photo Jeremy Packer, PhD
Associate Professor
Currently accepting PhD students: Yes
Specialization:
Media History; Mobility Studies;  Military and Autonomous Technologies;  Media Theory; Cultural Studies.
Email: jeremy.packer@utoronto.ca
Phone:
905-569-5772
Office: CCT 3077
 Prof. Robert Price profile photo

Robert Price, PhD
Lecturer
Programs: Professional Writing and Communication Program
Specialization: Expressive writing; the reader-writer relationship; voice, expression, and personhood; writing pedagogy
Email: robert.price@utoronto.ca
Website: robertgrantprice.com
Phone: 416 946 5127
Office: CCT3009

Thumbnail of Professor Lilian Radovac prfoile photo Lilian Radovac, PhD
Assistant Professor
Specialization: Culture and communication, urban history, sound studies, history of technology, activism and social movements, digital humanities
Email: lilian.radovac@utoronto.ca
Phone: TBA
Office: CCT 3073
Prof. Sarah Sharma Sarah Sharma, PhD
Associate Professor
Director of the McLuhan Centre for Culture and Technology
Currently accepting PhD students: Yes
Specialization:
Feminist Technology; Media and Temporality; Media Theory; Technology and Labour; Cultural Studies.
Email: sarah.sharma@utoronto.ca
Website: https://www.mcluhancentre.ca
                http://sarahsharma.com
Phone: 905-569-5773
Office: CCT 3077
Steve Szigeti profile photo Steve Szigeti, PhD
Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream
Programs: CCIT, DEM
Specialization: Experiential education, design thinking, human computer interaction, data visualization, new media, game design
Email: steve.szigeti@utoronto.ca
Phone: 905-569-4707
Office: CCT 3081
Lilia Topouzova Profile Photo

 

Lilia Topouzova, PhD
Assistant Professor 
Programs: CCIT and PWC; Graduate Appointment at OISE
Specialization: Narrative non-fiction, film documentaries, documentary script writing, historical writing, archival research, oral history
Currently accepting PhD students: TBA
Email: lilia.topouzova@utoronto.ca
Website: TBA
Phone: TBA
 Laurel Waterman profile photo Laurel Waterman, MA
Lecturer
Professional Writing and Communication
Programs: PWC
Specialization: Expressive writing; language editing; narrative research; writing pedagogy; food writing
Email: laurel.waterman@utoronto.ca
Phone: 416 946 5141
Office: CCT 3007
Anthony Wensley Profile Photo Anthony Wensley, PhD
Associate Professor
(Primary Appointment in the Department of Management)
Programs: DEM, CCIT
Currently accepting PhD students: Yes
Email: anthony.wensley@utoronto.ca
Phone: 905-569-4346 or 905-569-4489
Office: CCT 3005
Gabor Virag Profile Photo Gabor Virag, PhD
Associate Professor
(Cross-appointed with Department of Management)
Programs: DEM
Specialization: Auction theory; economics of the internet; consumer and labour market search; political economy
Email: gabor.virag@utoronto.ca
Website: http://www.rotman.utoronto.ca/facbios/viewFac.asp?facultyID=Gabor.Virag
Phone: 905-569-4505
Office: KN 230