Congratulations to the 2019-2020 Historical Studies Awards Recipients!

Friday, July 24, 2020 - 11:21am
Heather Thornton


On behalf of the Department of Historical Studies and the Historical Studies Awards Committee, we are very proud to congratulate our 2019-2020 Awardees on their important achievements!

We were unable to fete our hard-working awardees with the luncheon we had planned in June 2020 due to the unusual worldwide circumstances but we hope to celebrate their accomplishments in June 2021.

We thank all our students and teaching assistants for their contributions to the Department of Historical Studies.



Department of Historical Studies 2019-2020 Awardees:

Ida and Sam Aster Memorial Award in Historical Studies

Omar Sherif El Sharkawy

History Emeriti Award

Omar El Sharkawy

The Desmond Morton Book Prize

Cem Unlu

Jennifer McDonald

The R.E.A. Morton Prize

Lillie Nadeau

Hugh Smith Scholarship in Canadian History

Daniela Lopez

Tomasz Glod

The Hans-Georg Neumann Scholarship

Alvina Babar

WGS Student of the Year/UTM Study of Women and Gender Program Award

Kafia Abdulkader

Women and Gender Studies Prize

Khadro Abdulle

The McNab Scholarship in Religious Studies (Erindale)

Aleesha Noreen

Historical Studies Graduate Transition Award

Kagan Pittman

Shadiya Ali

Zachary Roberts

Historical Studies Teaching Assistant Award

Kyle Derkson

Sara Hamed

Merle Curti Prize in American History

Mahamad Younes

Historical Studies Creative Activity Award

Samar Ashraf

Historical Studies Best Paper Award

Tess Hole

Historical Studies Classical Civilization Merit Award

Jheanell Chahine-Badr

Additionally, two students from Historical Studies are 2019-2020 UTM Undergraduate Award Recipients:

Part-Time - E.A. Robinson Medal (ICCIT & Historical Studies)

Amber Shoebridge

Outstanding Program Performance (Specialist in History and Political Science)

Leo Wiltshire