Minutes: AAC, September 25, 2012

Report of the ACADEMIC AFFAIRS COMMITTEE meeting of Erindale College Council held on Tuesday, September 25, 2012 at 11:10 a.m. in Council Chamber, Room 3130, William G. Davis Building.

Present: N. Woolridge (in the Chair), D. Saini, A. Mullin, K. Hannah-Moffat, D. Crocker, I. Whyte, D. McMillen, C. Chambers, A. Rosenbloom, J. Simalchik, B. Yi, X. Shi, N. Lacetera, R. Day, T. Bowen, V. Shahani, S. Dasilva, P. Maurutto, S. Stefanovic
Regrets:  D. Kreuger, U. Krull, E. Levy
In attendance: M. Berger, J. Smith, B. Grayburn

  1. Approval of Minutes of the Previous Meeting (March 27, 2012)

    The minutes of the previous meeting were approved.
  1. Report of the CRO and Election of Chair

    Ms. Ferencz Hammond reported that there were 11 positions open in the faculty constituency.  All of these positions were acclaimed to the committee as follows: Nick Woolridge from the Department of Biology, David McMillen from the Department of Chemical and Physical Sciences; Craig Chambers from the Department of Psychology; Arnold Rosenbloom from the Department of Mathematical and Computational Sciences; David Francis Taylor from the Department of English and Drama; Michael Lettieri from the Department of Language Studies; Xianwen Shi from the Department of Economics; Monika Havelka from the Department of Geography; David Brownfield from the Department of Sociology; Evonne Levy from the Department of Visual Studies and Tracey Bowen from the Institute of Communication, Culture and Information Technology.

    There was also one nomination for the Chair position of the Committee. Professor Woolridge has been nominated and acclaimed for a second term as the Chair of this Committee.

    She noted that all new members would officially begin their term at the next meeting.  The nominations for the student members of the committee will open on October 2, 2012 and will be announced at the next meeting.
  1. Reports of Committees and Officers:
  1. Report from the Vice-Dean Undergraduate, Professor Kelly Hannah-Moffat for information

    Professor Hannah Moffat reported that in an upcoming meeting of the committee, members would be considering changes and new programming in first year transitional programs, such as the UTMOne program.  The proposal is to offer an entire suite of programs.  One of the components will be a Scholars One program, which will be available to the top-achieving cohort of incoming students.  The UTMOne program will introduce three new courses, all focusing on academic skills in either the Humanities, Social Sciences or Sciences area.  The classes are projected to be approximately 60 in size, with breakout tutorials of 30 each.  All of these offerings are targeted to first year students and all are for credit courses.  More details will be contained in the curriculum proposals, which are coming forward to this committee at its November meeting.

    The Chair opened the floor to questions.

    In response to a member’s question, Professor Hannah-Moffat explained that these programs will be taught by faculty and sessionals in tandem with the Academic Skills Centre.  The staff support person is Jackie Goodman who coordinates the UTMOne program and the Vice-Dean Undergraduate will provide academic oversight.

    In response to a member’s question about the difference between these programs and the ones offered through the Office of the Registrar, Professor Hannah-Moffat explained that the new suite of offerings are more targeted and focused (second language, numeracy), but acknowledged that there needs to be clear differentiation in the marketing of these programs; she added that the new offerings will be for credit courses.
  1. UTM Divisional Academic Plan – Professor Amy Mullin, Vice-Principal Academic and Dean  For information

    The Chair called on Professor Amy Mullin, Vice-Principal Academic and Dean to discuss the UTM Divisional Academic Plan.  He gave a notice of motion for the October 30 meeting of the committee:  members will be asked to endorse the UTM Divisional Academic Plan in principle.

    The Dean presented an overview of the UTM Divisional Academic Plan, which is attached hereto as Appendix A.  She encouraged everyone to read the Academic Plan carefully, which is available both on the governance website and the Office of the Dean website.

    The Chair opened the floor to questions.

    In response to a member’s question, Professor Mullin explained that her office is in the process of coordinating a comprehensive writing initiative; the model will be discipline based writing instruction, so that students could take writing instruction within their own discipline, for example, Writing in Biology.  Online assessment tools and a lead training TA are all part of the writing initiative plan, currently under development.
  1. Report from the Registrar and Director of Enrolment Management – Diane Crocker For information

    The 20129 Enrolment Report, presented by Ms. Crocker, Registrar and Director of Enrolment Management, is attached hereto as Appendix B.
  1. New Business:
  1. Concurrent Teacher Education Program (CTEP) change to internship course For approval

    Professor Hannah-Moffat discussed the internship changes in the Concurrent Teacher Education Program (CTEP) and made the following motion.

    It was duly moved and seconded,
    The Academic Affairs Committee approve the changes to the CTEP Internship course as described in the attached proposal effective immediately.  (K. Hannah-Moffat/J. Smith)

    The motion was approved.

    The next meeting of the committee is Tuesday, October 30, 2012.  The meeting adjourned at 12:10 p.m.

    Chair ____________________  Secretary _________________________