Executive Committee

Membership (2011-2012)

  1. Chair of Council (shall act as Chair of Committee)
    Professor Gordon Anderson
  2. Vice-President and Principal
    Professor Hargurdeep (Deep) Saini
  3. Chief Administrative Officer
    Paul Donoghue
  4. Chair of the Academic Affairs Committee
    Professor Nick Woolridge
  5. Chair of the Resource Planning and Priorities Committee
    Professor Lee Bailey
  6. Undergraduate Student representative
    Gilbert Cassar
  7. Graduate Student representative
    Meet Zandawala
  8. UTM Alumni Association/Associates of UTM representative
    Dario DiCenso

Terms of Reference (from the UTM By-Laws)

III-4.2 Function To serve as the Striking Committee (see Section III-7 below)

To set the agenda for each Council meeting.
To ensure that adequate documentation is provided for consideration of each agenda item and to refer back to the originating administrator/governance body for further preparation any item deemed not ready for submission to Council
To receive and review reports of the Standing Committees for transmission to the Council. Review and confirm, on behalf of the Council, resolutions approved by the Academic Affairs Committee
To direct specific issues to Council or Standing Committees or to recommend to Council the creation of special committees.
To consider notices of motion given to Council.
To review and advise Council on all proposed Constitution and By-Law changes, whether these be brought to Council or initiated by Council.
At periodic intervals of not more than five years, to establish a review of the Constitution and By-Laws and recommend to Council any changes deemed appropriate.
To monitor the functioning of Council and its Committees. To report to Council its deliberations, recommendations and decisions.

At times when the Council is not in session, the Committee shall act in an advisory capacity to the Vice-President and Principal when the urgency of matters so demands. During the summer months (i.e. following the last meeting of Council of one academic year and until the first meeting in the subsequent academic year), to have authority to make decisions on behalf of Council on matters of urgency which do not permit their deferral until the next regular meeting of Council.