

# **DEPARTMENT** VISUAL STUDIES

## ANNIVERSARY OF ART, 2022 ANNUAL AWARDS GALA

### LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

We would like to acknowledge that for thousands of years this has been and still is the traditional territory and waters of the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation, Anishinaabe Nation, Huron-Wendat and the Haudenosaunee Confederacy. Sheridan College sits on these lands and it is our collective responsibility to honour and respect those who have gone before us, those who are here, and those who have yet to come. We are grateful to have the opportunity to work here; and through our activities seek to create a space for people from within and outside our diverse community to create, share and discuss contemporary art, as well as to understand the art of long ago—all in the spirit of peace, friendship and respect.























Sheridan Faculty of Animation, Arts and Design



#### WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 9, 2022 Awards Ceremony 6:00–8:00 PM | MiST Theatre

University of Toronto Mississauga Sheridan College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning

## *R***EYNOTE SPEAKER**

Drew Lesiuczok

## MASTERS OF GEREMONY

John Armstrong

Coordinator, Art and Art History, Sheridan College Jill Caskey

Chair Department of Visual Studies, UTM

## 

Caylen Heckel Assistant Professor, DVS Louis Kaplan Professor, DVS Ruba Kana'an Assistant Professor, DVS Evonne Levy Professor, DVS Tania Senewiratne Associate Dean Faculty of Animation, Arts and Design, Sheridan College Ellyn Walker Acting Director/Curator, Blackwood Gallery

## DONOR PLATFORM PARTY

Jackie Osmond Patrick Catherine Quesnell Prize Heather Phillips ARTiculations Art Supply Nina Tschupikow Chair, Scholarships and Awards, The Women's Art Association of Canada Theresa Wang Assistant Curator, Oakville Galleries, Oakville Galleries Award Joy Xiang Editor, C Magazine

ACADEMIC AWARDS

MARGARET LAIDLAW MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP IN ART & ART HISTORY DR. ANNIE SMITH AWARD IN ART & ART HISTORY

Shannon Bogert Pora Lee

Lourdes Duah

Lorelai Mckeown

#### CATHERINE QUESNEL PRIZE IN ART & ART HISTORY

PROF. L. ELEEN, T. MARTONE & B. WELSH PRIZE IN ART HISTORY

Elizabeth Provost

#### Awards Brochure Design

Natalie R. Chiovitti

## 

Atanas Bozdarov

#### Awards Presentation Image Coordination

David Poolman

AAH History Image Coordination

John Armstrong

SPECIAL THANKS TO:

John Armstrong Program Coordinator

Jill Caskey DVS Chair

Kait Harper Assistant to DVS Chair

Shannon Chellew Paternostro Program Support Specialist

## DONOR'S ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

WE ARE DEEPLY GRATEFUL TO OUR SUPPORTERS FOR YOUR COMMITMENT TO CELEBRATE STUDENT SUCCESS. YOUR SUPPORT FUELS OUR STUDENTS' PASSION, CURIOSITY AND TALENT, INSPIRING THEM TO ACHIEVE THEIR BEST.

Aboveground Art Supplies Akimbo Art Promotions Art & Art History faculty, staff and administrators **ARTiculations Art Supply** Blackwood Gallery Therese Bolliger & Arturo Nagel C Magazine Family of Margaret Laidlaw Family of Sylvia C. Morton Family of Catherine Quesnel Gallery 44 Japanese Paper Place Kama Paints Paul Kipps Memorial Award Fund **Oakville Galleries Open Studio** Ben Portis Memorial Award Fund Professors L. Eleen, T. Martone and B. Welsh Scotiabank Contact Photography Festival Dr. Annie Smith Graduate Scholarship Fund Dr. Annie Smith Travel Award Fund Tri-Art Manufacturing **TYPE Books** Jay Wilson Women's Art Association of Canada Andrew Wright YYZ Artists' Outlet



#### ART HISTORY HAS ITS EYES ON YOU AWARD

Paige Brown Lisa Grierson Isabella Iacoe

#### UTM ART HISTORY EXCELLENCE AWARD

Serena Uribe

## GINEMA STUDIES AWARDS

#### **CINEMA STUDIES PRIZE**

Jennifer Hendrickson

#### BREAKTHROUGH PERFORMANCE: CINEMA STUDIES PROMISING STUDENT AWARD

Joshua Tan



#### DR. ANNIE SMITH TRAVEL AWARD

Kyra Williamson

#### DR. ANNIE SMITH GRADUATE AWARDS

Jennifer Liu Kamryn Mcfarlane Annaliisa Ollila Chelsea Ryan Aleksandre Vuksinic-Gauthier

## ART & ART HISTORY BEN PORTIS MEMORIAL AWARD

ART & ART HISTORY BEN PORTIS MEMORIAL AWARD

Mary-Rebekah Reyes

## **VISUAL GULTURE & COMMUNICATION PRIZE**

VISUAL CULTURE & COMMUNICATION PRIZE

Bernice Cheung Hayley Park

## BLACKWOOD GALLERY & GURATORIAL PROJECT AWARDS

#### BLACKWOOD GALLERY AWARD

Suki Wong

#### CURATORIAL PROJECT AWARD

Spenta Chothia Emma Goodman Saira Khalid Candace Minott Jing Han Yang

## Sculpture Awards

PAUL KIPPS MEMORIAL AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN SCULPTURE 1

Alara Arslankaya Lisa Grierson Jessica Zhang Tianqi Zhang

#### PAUL KIPPS MEMORIAL AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN SCULPTURE 2

Hubert Swietorzecki

#### PAUL KIPPS MEMORIAL AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN SCULPTURE 3

Shannon Bogert Zeting Xu

#### THERESE BOLLIGER AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN SCULPTURE 4

Victoria Buda Veronica Cheung Mary-Rebekah Reyes Julia Yamasaki

## **PHOTOGRAPHY** Awards

#### FACULTY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN PHOTO 1

Shuyue Liu Beatriz Simas

#### FACULTY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN PHOTO 2

Sabeel Khaliq Lorelai McKeown

## GALLERY 44 AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN PHOTO 3

Hamna Habib

#### SCOTIABANK CONTACT PHOTOGRAPHY FESTIVAL AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN PHOTO 4

Sofia Sue-Wah-Sing

## Studio Awards

THE WOMEN'S ART ASSOCIATION OF CANADA HELGA SCOTT SCHOLARSHIP

Natalie R. Chiovitti

#### OAKVILLE GALLERIES AWARD

Zeting Xu

#### YYZ ARTISTS' OUTLET AWARD

Saira Khalid

#### ALUMNI AWARD

Hiu Ting Charlotte Lam

#### C MAGAZINE AWARD

Huan Chen Emma Goodman



AKIMBO "LET'S TALK ABOUT ME FOR A MINUTE" AWARD

Gladys Lou



FACULTY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN DESIGN 1

Aubrey Pratama Hannah Prno

FACULTY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN DESIGN 2

Hiu Ting Charlotte Lam

#### FACULTY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN DESIGN 3

Natalie R. Chiovitti

#### FACULTY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN DESIGN 4

Juanita Lam



#### TRI-ART AWARD FOR **EXCELLENCE IN PAINTING 1**

Rica Facundo Lisa Grierson Kajal Panicker Jessica Zhang

KAMA PAINTS AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN **PAINTING 3** 

Huan Chen Abigail Kohut

#### **ABOVEGROUND ART** SUPPLIES AWARD FOR **EXCELLENCE IN PAINTING 2**

Rebecca Hailu Melody Liu **Rvan Suitor** 

**ABOVEGROUND ART** SUPPLIES AWARD FOR **EXCELLENCE IN PAINTING 3** 

Sierra Peca

#### FACULTY AWARD FOR **EXCELLENCE IN** PAINTING 4

Pora Lee Dania Sabri

## PRINT. MEDIA . AWARDS

JAPANESE PAPER PLACE AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE **IN PRINT MEDIA 1** 

Christine Feng Maheen Hussain Uke Lvu Kathleen Xu

FACULTY AWARD FOR **EXCELLENCE IN PRINT** MEDIA 2

Joanna Konopka

**OPEN STUDIO AWARD** FOR EXCELLENCE IN **PRINT MEDIA 3** 

Jing Han Yang

JAPANESE PAPER PLACE AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE **IN PRINT MEDIA 3** 

Shannon Bogert

MEDIA 3 Madison McEwing

FACULTY AWARD FOR

**EXCELLENCE IN PRINT** 

**OPEN STUDIO AWARD** FOR EXCELLENCE IN PRINT MEDIA 4

Antonia Grujic

COPPER CASH AWARD FOR CONTINUED COMMITMENT TO PRINTMAKING

Rebecca Locke

**MRAWING**, **AWARDS** 

C MAGAZINE AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN DRAWING 1

Isabella Iacoe Laura Maldonado Madrid Jessica Zhang

#### ARTICULATIONS ART SUPPLY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN DRAWING 2

Morgan McCracken

#### ARTICULATIONS ART SUPPLY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN DRAWING 3

Suki Wong

ABOVEGROUND ART SUPPLIES AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN DRAWING 4

Pora Lee

## PIDEO & SOUND AWARD

FACULTY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN VIDEO & SOUND

Bryce Coates Gladys Lou