

## Art & Art History Awards Ceremony

#### Wednesday, November 7, 2018

Sheridan College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning University of Toronto Mississauga

MiST Theatre, University of Toronto Mississauga Buffet **6:00 p.m.** Awards Ceremony **7:00 p.m.** 

#### KEYNOTE SPEAKER

Matthew Filipowich, 1997 A&AH alumna

#### MASTERS OF CEREMONY

John Armstrong, Coordinator, Art and Art History, Sheridan Jill Caskey, Chair, Department of Visual Studies, UTM

#### PLATFORM PARTY

Ronni Rosenberg, Dean

Faculty of Animation, Arts and Design, Sheridan

Mary Jane Carroll, Associate Dean

Faculty of Animation, Arts and Design, Sheridan

Ruba Kana'an, Associate Professor

Department of Visual Studies, UTM

Evonne Levy, Professor

Department of Visual Studies, UTM

Christine Shaw, Director and Curator

Blackwood Gallery, UTM

#### DONOR PLATFORM PARTY

Amy Corner, Advertising Director, Canadian Art

Lucy Duong, Vivian Duong Award

Clara Halpern, Assistant Curator, Oakville Galleries

George Laidlaw, Janet Laidlaw and Chris Laidlaw, Margaret Laidlaw Memorial Award

Kate Monro, Publisher, C Magazine

Kelly McCray, Curator, First Canadian Place Gallery, Mary Sue Rankin Emerging Artist Award

Jackie Patrick, Epson Canada Ltd. Award and Catherine Quesnell Prize

David Plant, Managing Director, Trinity Square Video

Heather Phillips, Co-owner, Articulations

# Academic Awards

#### SYLVIA C. MORTON AWARD

Sarah Pereux

#### MARGARET LAIDLAW MEMORIAL AWARD

Mackenzie Boyd

#### CATHERINE QUESNELL PRIZE

Lydia Phoon

#### DR. ANNIE SMITH AWARD IN ART & ART HISTORY

Anran Guo

#### PROF. L. ELEEN, T. MARTONE AND B. WELSH PRIZE IN ART HISTORY

Claire Smith

THE WOMEN'S ART ASSOCIATION OF CANADA SCHOLARSHIP

TBA

#### ALISON SYME AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN ART HISTORY

Anastasiya Obraztsova

#### ART HISTORY HAS ITS EYES ON YOU AWARD

Jennifer Liu Trisha Luth Nicholas Markowski

## UTM ART HISTORY EXCELLENCE AWARD

Amy Provo

## VISUAL CULTURE AND COMMUNICATION PRIZE

Jay Tinico-Gonzalez

#### TIFF CINEMA STUDIES PRIZE

Janina Malapitan

# Volunteer Activity

#### CANADIAN ART AWARD Recognition of Volunteer Activities

Nada Hafez

Sarah Pereux Anran Guo

Ryan Manahan

Anica Latchman James Lagaspi

# Gallery & Studio

#### CURATOI AL PROJECT AWARD

For ous anding contributions to the project Halfway. Curated by Concrete Collective:

Yossie Bolanos Codero Mackenzie Boyd Yifei Cao

Morgan Garside Janine Holdsworth

Emiley Webb Wenjie Zhao

BLACKW OD GALLERY AWARD

000 119

OAKVILLE GALLERIES AWARD

**Emiley Webb** 

VIVIAN L TUNG AWAKD IN MENT RSHIP

Ryan I anahan

YYZ ART TS

Excellence in writing in support of cross disciplinary curatorial practices
Brendan Bradley

Naomi Senwasane

ROGER JOWETT MEMORI L AWARD

Excellence in Studio V ork
Mira Szuberwood

ALUMINI AWARD

Thang V

SUPERFRA E AWARD

Excellenc in 2D Artwork

Katherin Frank

"C" MAGAZINE AWARD

Excellence in Art Writi g

Olivia Carina

MADV CHE DANVIN

EMERGING ARTIST AWARD

Olivia Za oski-Peever

# Drawing

#### SHERIDAN BOOKSTORE AWARD

Excellence in Drawing 1
Jasana Alleyne

## ARTICULATIONS SUPPLY CENTRE RESOURCE AWARD

Excellence in Drawing 1
Melissa Crosby

# FACULTY DRAWING AWARD Excellence in Drawing 2

Excellence in Drawing 2 Xingyu Wu

# FACULTY DRAWING AWARD Excellence in Drawing 3 Yanjun Liu

FACULTY
DRAWING AWARD
Excellence in Drawing 4
Angelica Brzyska

# **Painting**

#### TRI-ART AWARD

Excellence in Painting 1

Patricia Valeriano Jasana Alleyne Arabelle Samaniego Olivia Carina

#### **FACULTY PAINTING AWARD**

Excellence in Painting 2

James Lagaspi Veronica Spiljak

## ABOVEGROUND ART SUPPLIES FACULTY AWARD

Excellence in Painting 3

Sarah Pereux Chelsea Ryan Mackenzie Boyd Yeshi Gyalpo

#### **FACULTY PAINTING AWARD**

Excellence in Painting 4

Mira Szuberwood Don Fitzgerald Kiana James Abby Nowak

# Design

#### FACULTY DESIGN AWARD

Excellence in Design 1
James Lagaspi
Thang Vu

#### FACULTY DESIGN AWARD

Excellence in Design 2
Michelle Wong

#### FACULTY DESIGN AWARD

Excellence in Design 3

Sabrina Cunha

# Ph otography

ART GALL RY OF
ONTARIO WARD
Excellen e in Photo 1
Victoria Sciulli

ANDREW PATRICK AND EPSON CANADA LTD AWA D Excellence in Photo 4 Julia Bonavita

MAGENTA
FOUNDATION AWARD
Excellence in Photo

Ryan K ssoon

Olivia Carina

GALLERY 4 AWARD

Excellen e in Photo 2
Jasmin Canaviri-Laymon
Thang u

VISTEK AV ARD

Excellence in Photo Katherine Frank

Excellence in Photo

TORONTO MAGE WORKS A /ARD Excellen e in Photo 4 Sonia F ajakowski

## **Print Media**

#### PAPER PLACE AWARD

Excellence in Print Media 1

Ruhan Pan

Tina Wang

Lydia Phoon

Manjot Pabla

Katrina Leslie

#### FACULTY PRINT MEDIA AWARD

Excellence in Print Media 2

Anica Latchman

Jennifer Liu

Aleksandre Vuksinic-Gauthier

#### **OPEN STUDIO AWARD**

Student showing most promise in Print Media 3

Sarah Pereux

Ryan Manahan

#### JAPANESE PAPER PLACE AWARD

Excellence in Print Media 3

Jacquelyn Wood

Alex Detwiler

#### **FACULTY AWARD**

Excellence in Print Media 4

Angelica Brzyska

Emiley Webb

#### COPPER CASH AWARD

Continued Commitment to

Print Media

Cherie Novecosky

# Sculpture

### TEXTILE MUSEUM OF CANADA AWARD

Excellence in Sculpture 1 Mya Fellows

#### WOODSHOP AWARD

Excellence in Sculpture 1
Kathy Kong
Makayla Melnyk
Ariake Zhang

#### SHERIDAN BOOKSTORE AWARD

Excellence in Sculpture 1
Manny Singh Bhogal

#### MUSEUMPROS SCULPTURE AWARD

Excellence in Sculpture 1
Jasana Alleyne
Melissa Passarelli

#### ARTCAST AWARD

Excellence in Sculpture 2
Kristy Corcoran

### SCULPTURE SUPPLY CANADA AWARD

Excellence in Sculpture 2
Katrina Leslie
Kate Rozumey

#### MUSEUMPROS SCULPTURE AWARD

Excellence in Sculpture 2
Jasmine Canaviri-Laymon

#### PAUL KIPPS AWARD

Excellence in Sculpture 3 Yihan Li Ryan Manahan

#### **FACULTY SCULPTURE AWARD**

Excellence in Sculpture 3
Alex Detwiler

#### MUSEUMPROS SCULPTURE AWARD

Excellence in Sculpture 3
Anica Latchman

#### THERESE BOLLIGER AWARD

Excellence in Sculpture 3 Anran Guo Nada Hafez

# Video & Sound **VIDEO & SOUND FACULTY AWARD** Excellence in Video & Sound Thang Vu

# Professional Practice

AKIMBO "LET'S TALK ABOUT ME FOR A MINUTE" AWARD Excellence in

Professional Practices

Kamryn Mcfarlane

## Dr. Annie Smith

#### DR. ANNIE SMITH TRAVEL AWARD

Graduating student proposals adjudicated by A&AH faculty and staff Audrey Yip

### DR. ANNIE SMITH GRADUATE AWARD

Available funds split among eligible alumni who have graduated from A&AH in the previous four years

Kelly Hines

Christina Trutiak

Sonva Filman

Hilary Dow

Azadeh Monzavi

Julia Huynh

**Emily White** 

Triveni Srikaran

Klasha Fernandes

Varshiini Ravishankar

Monica Bujas

Alessia Pignotti

Jordyn Stewart

Laura Krick

# Acknowledgements

## SPECIAL THANKS TO OUR GENEROUS DONORS:

Type Books Coach House Books Swipe Books, etc.

Program Administrative Officer, Tracy Smith Program Coordinator, John Armstrong Faculty Volunteers

coord "Name John I	HANKS us to John McCartney for inating this year's e Game" CD and to McCartney and Jillian Boot burning.	n	
<b>AWARD</b> Brenn Sarah Denyo	CUBES CONSTRUCTION  a Knegt Lowe  ba Decaen  nique Simmons		
<b>AWARD</b> Rober	BROCHURE COORDINATION t Fones HOTOGRAPHY		
Ryan Kathe <b>PRINTIN</b>	Kissoon rine Frank G AND BINDING Print Centre, Sheridan		
	BROCHURE DESIGN na Cunha		









## CANADIANART Superframe













Oakville galleries









