UTM Office of the Dean Newsletter

Graduate Reception for the 2017-18 Top UTM Undergraduate Students Award Recipients (held on June 11th, 2018)

The 2017-18 UTM award recipients were:

Founders Gold Medal: Annalea Rose Thiessen

E.A. Robinson Medals (pictured below):

Humanities — Yanjun Liu Sciences — Aditya Sripathi Social Sciences — Misaki Nakagawa Part-Time Studies — Monique Van Tetering

For the recipients of the Outstanding Program Performance and a gallery of photos, please refer to the following link: http://www.utm.utoronto.ca/dean/2017-18-top-utm-undergraduate-students-award-recipients



E.A. Robinson Medal Winners 2018

Contents

- Graduate Reception for the 2017-18 Top UTM Undergraduate Students Award Recipients
- 2. Deans' Excellence 2017-18

 Award Winners /

 Undergraduate Research

 Award Winners / President

 Teaching Award Recipient

 / Senior Academic

 Administrative Staff

 Changes in the Office of
 the Dean
- 3. Vice-Dean, Faculty
- 4. Vice-Dean, Academic Experience

Winners of the 2017-18 Dean's Excellence Awards:

Writing Excellence Award - Geneva Liwag, Department of Mathematical & Computational Sciences

Research Excellence Award - Bijan Mirabi, Department of Chemical & Physical Sciences

UTM Undergraduate Research Award Recipients:

Samuel Fung, Department of Biology

Jibran Syed, Department of Biology

Andrew Plummer, Department of Political Science

Amira Abozaid & Benjamin Tsang, Department of Psychology

Justine Ziolkowski, Department of Psychology

UTM 2018 President's Teaching Award:

Fiona Rawle, Associate Dean Undergraduate and Associate Professor, Teaching Stream, Department of Biology was one of the four 2018 recipients of this award which is the highest honour for teaching at the University of Toronto. Fiona will join the Teaching Academy and serve as a teaching ambassador, advancing teaching across the University as a whole.

Senior Academic Administrative Staff Changes in the Office of the Dean:

Professor Angela Lange - Acting Vice-Principal Academic & Dean - July 1st to December 31st, 2018

Professor Kathi Wilson – Acting Vice-Dean Faculty – July 1st to December 31st, 2018

Professor Andrew Petersen – Acting Vice-Dean Teaching & Learning – July 1st, 2018 to June 30th, 2019

2. Vice-Dean, Faculty

Unconscious Bias

We are working with Fiona Rawle (Associate Dean, Undergraduate) and Alexandra Gillespie (Chair, Department of English & Drama), both members of TIDE – Toronto Initiative for Diversity & Excellence, to update and revitalize procedures for UTM Academic Search Committees. Specifically, we are interested in raising awareness and training committees on recognizing unconscious bias in the search process including creation of the shortlist, reading reference letters, interviewing, and hiring. We seek to align with best strategies and practices employed by U of T and other comparator institutions in recruiting a diverse and excellent faculty complement. Fiona and Alex are helping to create search committee checklists and procedures for reducing unconscious bias in UTM academic search and hiring practices.

2018 New Faculty Hires

To date, thirty-two (32) new faculty have been hired, including spousal hires and opportunity hires, for the 2018-19 academic year. As part of the University's commitment to equity and diversity, UTM has recruited three Indigenous faculty across two departments who will help integrate significant Indigenous curriculum content into programs across many departments. UTM has also been actively recruiting faculty in the area of Robotics to form a research cluster in this area and bring exciting new courses and programs to UTM. There is currently one (1) position still pending.

The 2018-19 Faculty Recruitment Plan has been approved and we will be recruiting thirty-one (31) new hires for the 2019-2020 academic year.

Tenure in the Tenure Stream

The following eleven (11) UTM faculty received tenure effective July 1, 2018: Nate Charlow, Hae Yeon Choo, Kevin Coleman, Dushyantkumar Vyas, Gabor Virag, Sonia Kang, Marc Laflamme, John Ratcliffe, Lawrence Switzky, Minlei Ye, and Ke Zhang.

Continuing Status in the Teaching Stream

The following two (2) UTM faculty received continuing status and were promoted to the rank of Associate Professor, effective July 1, 2018: Tanya Kirsch and Gerhard Trippen.

Congratulations on their wonderful achievement!

Promotions

The following eight (8) UTM faculty have been promoted to Professor, effective July 1, 2018: Shyon Baumann, Tenley Conway, Claudiu Gradinaru, Jochen Halfar, Peter Kotanen, Jennifer Nagel, Brian Price, and Xianwen Shi

The Office of the Dean is pleased to report that, effective July 1, 2018, the first faculty to be awarded promotion to Professor, teaching stream at UTM are: Barbara Murck, Judith Poe and Irene Wiecek.

Congratulations to all on their well-deserved promotion!

3. Vice-Dean, Academic Experience

For the second year in a row, the Office of the Dean, UTM, collaborated with the Riverwood Conservancy to host an on-campus reception for the *Youth Indigenous Awareness Program*. On Thursday, June 7, 2018, high school students presented a photo show to exhibit their personal experiences in this program. Guests also enjoyed a variety of Indigenous foods, performed a cultural dance, and participated in a smudging ceremony meant to purify and cleanse the soul of negative thoughts.

Our Indigenous Spirit Journey: A Photo Story was the culmination of 12 weeks of personal land-based exploration as presented through an Indigenous lens. Each week, students captured their responses to the land on camera to create a photographic narrative that provided insight into how they conceptualized their circumstances and hopes for the future. The final photo show was a celebration of their journey, their reflections, and their understandings of themselves, as well as their connections to the group, the land, and their communities.

Photographs from students experience:





UTM Welcomes First Cohort of JHI Scholars-in-Residence



UTM has bid *adieu* to 25 upper-year undergraduates who spent four weeks on campus (May 7-June 1, 2018) as part of an intensive research experience through U of T's Jackman Humanities Institute. This is the first year UTM has hosted the prestigious *Scholars-in-Residence Program*, which is now in its third year on U of T's St. George campus.

The *Scholars-in-Residence Program* helps undergraduate students to grow as scholars and also presents UTM with an opportunity to showcase the faculty and the high standards to which they work," says UTM program coordinator Jordana Lobo-Pires.

Students from across U of T apply to the summer program for the chance to spend an intensive four-week research residency working directly with faculty on active research projects. The 2018 program accepted 75 undergraduate scholars to work on 15 projects. Twenty-five undergraduate scholars participated in the inaugural

program on the UTM campus, working with professors Liza Blake and Lawrence Switzky (English and Drama), Teresa Lobalsamo (Language Studies), Liye Xie (Anthropology), and Ashley Rubin (Sociology).

The scholars spent their mornings in small teams working on their chosen research projects. Afternoons featured skill-building workshops on writing, advanced research techniques and library research led by staff from the UTM Library and the Robert Gillespie Academic Skills Centre. Evenings and weekends featured excursions to theatres, art galleries and other attractions. The initiative is a partnership between the Jackman Humanities Institute, the Faculty of Arts and Science, the colleges of the University of Toronto, the University of Toronto Mississauga, and Bader Philanthropies Inc.

The program wrapped up with a symposium where the student teams presented the results of their research.