

## 2022 CPS AWARDS CEREMONY

For 2021 - 2022 Academic Year

November 18, 2022 4 - 6 pm MN Grand Hall University of Toronto Mississauga

## **CPS CORE VALUES**

The Department of Chemical and Physical Sciences operates under three core values: Safety, Respect and Professionalism. Each of us commits to upholding and championing these values, and to supporting other members of our community in upholding them as well.

We wish to acknowledge this land on which the University of Toronto operates. For thousands of years, it has been the traditional land of the Huron-Wendat, the Seneca, and the Mississaugas of the Credit. Today, this meeting place is still the home to many Indigenous people from across Turtle Island and we are truly grateful to have the opportunity to work on this land.

In addition, we acknowledge the colonial roots of science.
We will strive to connect with Indigenous communities that
might be impacted by our research, or on whose traditional
land we may wish to conduct research. We will also strive to
approach research and teaching from different perspectives,
acknowledging that there are multiple ways of knowing. We
commit to acting on U of T's Answering the Call
Wecheehetowin Final Report.



**OPENING REMARKS** 

**Prof. Lindsay Schoenbohm** 

Chair

**Department of Chemical** and Physical Sciences

**KEYNOTE ADDRESS** 

Dr. Daniel Badali

Data Driven Experimental Physicist and Software

Developer.

Presentation of the 2021 - 2022 Awards

CLOSING REMARKS

**Prof. Ulrich Fekl** 

Chair of the CPS Awards

Committee

Department of Chemical and Physical Sciences

## AWARDS ASTRONOMY

**Presented by Professor Lea Hirsch** 

### **ISHA NAYAB**

John Pounder Prize in Astronomy Highest Standing (TIED) in AST101H5

### ISABELLA ADELINA IACOE

John Pounder Prize in Astronomy Highest Standing (TIED) in AST101H5

#### ALYSSA PAIGE ATKINSON

John Pounder Prize in Astronomy Highest Standing in AST110H5

### DAMON DYLAN MA

John Pounder Prize in Astronomy Highest Standing in AST201H5

## AWARDS CHEMISTRY

**Presented by Professor Juris Strautmanis** 

### ISABELLA ADELINA IACOE

James J. Rae Chemistry Prize Highest Standing in CHM110 and CHM120

### ALAN HAI-ENG ZHANG

Lawrence V. Redman Prize in Chemistry Outstanding performance (TIED) in CHM110 and CHM120

#### TARKAN AHMAD DAHI

Lawrence V. Redman Prize in Chemistry Outstanding performance (TIED) in CHM110 and CHM120

### SHRIYA GULATI

Carl Manning Prize
Highest Standing in CHM242 and CHM243 in
a Chemistry Specialist Program

### **MEELAD SABER**

Igor Bolta Scholarship in Chemistry
Highest Standing in CHM242 and CHM243 in
a Chemistry Major Program

## **AWARDS CHEMISTRY**

**Presented by Professor Ulrich Fekl** 

### YASMIN ASIM ELSEED ABDELLATIFF

The Chemical Institute of Canada Toronto Section Book Prize

High academic standing at the end of Year III in a Chemistry Program

### IAN FRANCIS MICHAEL KENALTY

The Canadian Society for Chemistry Silver Medal

Highest standing at the end of Year III in a Chemistry Specialist Program

### **BECK ANDREW PETERSON**

The Canadian Society for Chemistry Silver Medal

Highest standing at the end of Year III in a Biological Chemistry Specialist Program

### **DYLAN MCFARLANE-URBSZAT**

The Canadian Society for Chemistry Silver Medal

Highest standing at the end of Year III in a Forensic Chemistry Specialist Program

## AWARDS CHEMISTRY

**Presented by Professor Ulrich Fekl** 

### **ARIEL HAXHIAJ**

Moore Award in Chemistry Outstanding achievement in a Chemistry Specialist or Major Program

### LEEN SBAIH

The Society of Chemical Industry Merit Award (Canadian Section)
Highest standing in the final year of a
Chemistry Specialist Program

### IVONNE REBECA LOPEZ-MIRANDA

The Society of Chemical Industry Merit Award (Canadian Section)
Highest standing in the final year of a
Biological Chemistry Specialist Program

### ZAHEER AHMAD KHAN

The Society of Chemical Industry Merit Award (Canadian Section)
Highest standing in the final year of a
Forensic Chemistry Specialist Program

## AWARDS EARTH SCIENCE

**Presented by Professor Xiaoyong Xu** 

### ETHAN DEAN MOONEY

David Kobluk Memorial Scholarship Highest Standing in ERS325H5-Field Camp I

### AMELIE HAU YAU LO

Frederick R. Burton Scholarship in Earth Science Highest Standing in an Earth Science

Highest Standing in an Earth Science Specialist Program

### MOHAMMAD AZAAN RABBANI

Isabel and Tuzo Wilson Scholarship Outstanding achievement in a Geological Sciences Program

### SAUSANN OMRAN

Moore Award in Earth Science Outstanding achievement in a Geology Specialist or Major Program

## AWARDS PHYSICS

**Presented by Professor Wagih Ghobriel** 

### STASHU KOZLOWSKI

H.W. Taylor Award in Physics Awarded to an outstanding student in a Physics Program

### **OBADA AL AJEH**

Peter Hein Award in Physics Awarded to an outstanding student in a Physics Program

### CHRISTABEL FAYLINN

Moore Award in Physics Outstanding achievement in a Physics Specialist or Major Program

### LOGAN ALEXANDER BLASKIE

Feynman Award Highest standing in PHY146 and PHY147

## Natural Science and Engineering Research Council Undergraduate Student Research Award (NSERC USRA)

**Presented by Professor Ulrich Fekl** 

Awarded to nurture interest and fully develop students' potential for a research career in the natural sciences and engineering. This award is meant to encourage students to undertake graduate studies

MEELAD SABER SHRIYA GULATI THOMAS TSANGARIS

### University of Toronto Excellence Award (UTEA)

**Presented by Professor Ulrich Fekl** 

Awarded to nurture interest and fully develop students' potential for a research career in the natural sciences and engineering. This award is to provide students with an experience that will allow them to make informed decisions about pursuing careers in research

ZAINULABDEEN NASSRULLAH IVONNE REBECA LOPEZ-MIRANDA MAYA MICHELLE EID

### Canadian Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics (CCUWiP)

**Presented by Professor Wagih Ghobriel** 

Awarded on a competitive basis to support students build networks, present research, and explore career paths.

SHRIVARDHAN MISHRA

## **Huguette J. Cohen Award**

**Presented by Professor Ulrich Fekl** 

Awarded to graduate students for outstanding academic achievement in Analytical, Biological, or Organic Chemistry

ALEX GABBEY
ELYSE DIGBY
JOHN MONTEITH
JUSTIN VAN HOUTEN

### Fraser Code PhD Thesis Award

Presented by Professors Marc Laflamme & Patrick Gunning

Awarded to a PhD candidate who displays excellence in research as demonstrated in the PhD Thesis and Defence

KATIE MALONEY YASIR RAOUF

## **CPS Teaching Fellowship**

Presented by Professor Paul Piunno

Awarded to graduate students to develop pedagogical skills by working on original and innovative lectures, tutorials, or new laboratory exercises in undergraduate courses.

### ADVIKAA DOSAJH ZHENG ZHANG

## **CPS Research Visit Fellowship**

**Presented by Professor Ulrich Fekl** 

Awarded to graduate students to visit laboratories in other Canadian or international institutions.

B KELL KAMDIN MIRSANAYE

## **Certificates**

## **Unlearning Racism Program**

**Presented by Professor Lindsay Schoenbohm** 

Awarded to students who successfully completed the 8-week Unlearning Racism Program designed to explore racism in STEM

ALESSIO SCURCI

B KELL

DANIEL PALIN

KARAN MALHORTA

KATIE MALONEY

KATIE WILSON

MAX CHIPMAN

NICOLAS REA

PRATHULESH BALASUBRAMANIAN

SCOTT JESS

SESHU IYENGAR

## **ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS**

### **CPS AWARDS COMMITTEE:**

ULRICH FEKL (CHAIR)
JURIS STRAUTMANIS
WAGIH GHOBRIEL
XIAOYONG XU

### **GUEST SPEAKER:**

DANIEL BADALI

#### **ENTERTAINMENT:**

DAVID HROVAT

**UTM CONFERENCE SERVICES TEAM** 

UTM I & ITS TEAM

# CONGRATULATIONS CPS AWARDEES!