Our Laureates


Biology Student - the only Canadian to win Promega DOORS Scholarship

Saumya Mathur won the inaugural 2020 DOORS scholarship, valued at $5000USD. She was the only Canadian recipient of the award.


Biology undergrad wins scholarship

Tulip Marawi, undergrad student double major Biology & Psychology, is the one of the three undergrad students from UTM who received The Concetta Stefanelli Student Award Scholarship!

The Concetta Stefanelli Foundation for Young Women in Science offers up to three UTM Undergraduate Student Award Scholarships for current undergraduate students to provide financial assistance with graduate school application and fees. The purpose of the foundation is to provide support, by the way of mentorship, outreach, and financial aid, to women interested in working and studying in STEM fields.


Hone-Buske Award goes to Julia Gauberg

The Christine Hone-Buske award is given each year to a CSB graduate student who has produced an outstanding paper in their field. This year, the award went to PhD candidate Julia Gauberg for her publication “Conserved biophysical features of the CaV2 presynaptic Ca2+ channel homologue from the early-diverging animal Trichoplax adhaerens“.

Read All (link)


Dr. Angela Lange receives the prestigious Gorbman-Bern Memorial Lectureship

UTM Biology is proud to announce that Dr. Angela Lange received the The Gorbman-Bern Memorial Lectureship from the North American Society for Comparative Endocrinology (NASCE).


Brain Star Award winner: Arthur Hoi Hin Cheng

Arthur Cheng
Arthur Cheng

The Canadian Association for Neuroscience (CAN) and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research Institute of Neurosciences, Mental Health and Addiction (CIHR-INMHA) awarded the 2019 Brain Star Awards to Arthur Hoi Hin Cheng, PhD student in Dr. Mary Cheng Lab.

"The Brain Star Awards recognize and celebrate research excellence and contributions made by students and trainees that support positive health outcomes in CIHR-INMHA’s mandate areas. Your high-impact discoveries and research contributions in these fields of study are exceptional. We commend you for the outstanding work submitted and encourage future success in the fruitful and impactful research career ahead of you in neurosciences, mental health and addiction in Canada." Dr. Samuel Weiss (Scientific Director, CIHR Institute of Neurosciences, Mental Health and Addiction) and Dr. Katalin Toth (President, Canadian Association for Neuroscience) wrote in the letter announcing Arthur that he is one of only 15 Canadian grad students receiving this prestigious award.

"A new study by Arthur Hoi Hin Cheng, working in the laboratory of Dr. Hai-Ying Mary Cheng at the University of Toronto, reveals that SOX2 — a “stem cell gene” that is also expressed in the clock neurons of the brain —promotes robust and coherent circadian behavior in mice." https://can-acn.org/brain-star-award-winner-arthur-hoi-hin-cheng/

Paper:  SOX2-Dependent Transcription in Clock Neurons Promotes the Robustness of the Central Circadian Pacemaker


Read more: https://bit.ly/3hvB1BO


Ruth Rivkin wins CSEE Excellence in PhD Research Award

Please join me in congratulating Ruth Rivkin, PhD student, for winning the Excellence in PhD Research Award from the Canadian Society of Ecology (CSEE).

“This award aims to showcase excellent student research from within the society. Successful applicants will have conducted high-quality research that addresses fundamental questions or is of an applied nature in the fields of ecology and/or evolution. In addition to demonstrated scholarship and merit, the selection committee aims to promote diversity in science (and to balance field of study and institutional representation” http://csee-scee.ca/category/awards-2/

This is the top award for PhD students given by the Canadian Society for Ecology and Evolution and there are just five winners every year!

Ruth Rivkin is a PhD candidate, from Marc Johnson Lab, and she studies the effects of urbanization on the evolutionary ecology of species interactions.



For the month of May, CSEE will be premiering talks for the five winners of the PhD Research Award every Friday. Talks will be streaming live on YouTube starting at 4pm, followed by a live Q/A session.

Mark you calendar: May 22, 4pm ET Ruth Rivkin

Stay tuned for more details!

Link to CSEE_SCEE YouTube page:

Ruth Rivkin