UTM Eagles Athletic Awards Recipients


The 53rd Annual Athletic Awards Ceremony at UTM recognizes the achievements and celebrates the success of its student-athletes, coaches and leaders across the campus!


The nomination packages for the upcoming 2020 UTM Athletics Awards is now available! Changes have been made to the nomination package, so please be sure to complete the package correctly.

2020 UTM Athletics Awards nomination package

This is a great way to recognize those who have contributed to the UTM Athletics program through Varsity, Tri-Campus and UTM Intramurals as a student-athlete, staff and/or student leader.

Please note: You are now able to nominate ONE individual for multiple awards using ONE nomination package!


Nomination packages are due Monday, March 10th by midnight. Submissions can be sent electronically to utm.intramurals@utoronto.ca, or made in hardcopy to the RAWC – Program Office (addressed to Sonia Carreiro).

Here is a list of the 2018-19 UTM Athletic Award Recipients:

Referees of the Year

Jacob Abrams & Noor Aldoori

Varsity Most Valuable Players

Varsity MVPs

Badminton - Gary Tin & Rachel Wong
Men's & Women's Basketball - Gregory & Jade Addai
Cross Country - Sophie Glanz & Kale Heino
Men's & Women's Outdoor Soccer - Breana Silva & Andre Pinto
Men's & Women's Indoor Soccer - Kayla Rice & Damian Koscielniak

Development League Most Valuable Players

D-League MVP

Women's Basketball - Sarah-May Edwardo- Oldfield
Men's Hockey - Ian Kitt
Men's & Women's Outdoor Soccer - Annela Tchouadep & Markian Krencil
Men's & Women's Indoor Soccer - Emily Paiva & Thomas Verdier
Men's & Women's Volleyball - Jessica Maltese & Sean Leschak-Klugman

U of T Intramurals Most Valuable Players 

Tri-Campus MVP

Ultimate Frisbee - Nick Lowe & Fatima Khalid
Men's Basketball - Nikolas Kilik
Men's Cricket - Moksh Pachisia
Women's Field Hockey - Lauren Quero
Men's & Women's Flag Football - Alexander Hornby & Amber Shaffer
Women's Hockey - Serena Andrade
Lacrosse - Sofia Winter

Olympic Weightlifting Most Valuable Player

Christopher Di Pietranotonio

UTM Fair Play Award

Gabriel Boily-Porter, Jiana Alnajjar, Rebecca Wong

UTM Student Leadership Award

student leader award recipients

 Ashley Beckles, Rachel DeSa & Philip Power

Cynthia E. Haddow Memorial Award

Annela Tchouadep


OCAA All Academic Award Winners

OCAA All-Academic Award Winners

Badminton- Shiv Puri, Rachel Wong,

Cross-Country- Gabriel Boily-Porter, Kale Heino, Jerusha Colucci

Men's and Women's Basketball- Scott Ford, Trisha-An Vo

Men's and Women's Soccer- Aaron Peters, Andrey Volkov, Sanjar Kairosh, Azza Adhoum, Breana Silva, Julia Krizan, Isabela Charum, Sabrina Longo, Bobbi Alvernaz, Vanessa Cesario

Academic Excellence Award

Breanna Silva & Kale Heino

Golden Eagle Award


Golden Eagle Award

Nikolas Kilik, Sarah-May Edwardo-Oldfield, Sean Leschak-Klugman & Haseeb Malik

Alice H. Pearson - Intramural Athlete of the Year

Jessica Maltese & Nikolas Kilik

Rookies of the Year

Rookie of the Year

Female - Janella Viado
Male - Jamari Whyte

Varsity Athletes of the Year

Rachel Wong & Kale Heino


James J. Rae - Female Athlete of the Year 

James J. Rae Recipient- Sarah-May Edwardo-Oldfield

Sarah-May Edwardo- Oldfield

J Tuzo Wilson - Male Athlete of the Year

J. Tuzo Wilson Recipient- Haseeb Malik

Haseeb Malik

Coaches of the Year

Coaches of the Year

Tri-Campus Women's Ice-Hockey- Jasmine Sheehan  

Varsity Badminton - Lam Trinh and Jessica Dacquel


Past Award Winners

2017-18 Athletic Award Recipients
2016-17 Athletic Award Recipients
2015-16 Athletic Award Recipients
2014-15 Athletic Award Recipients
2013-14 Athletic Award Recipients
2012-13 Athletic Award Recipients
2011-12 Athletic Award Recipients
2010-11 Athletic Award Recipients