More than Marks Writing Contest

We know how hard you work on your writing, and we’re giving you a chance to show it off to the world! If you wrote something this year that you’re really proud of, we’d love to read it—because we understand that writing is about more than just marks (although marks are nice too).

Who can participate?

You must be a UTM undergraduate student in good standing.

What can you submit? 

  • You can submit any writing you’ve done for a credit-bearing UTM course this year, such as:
    • an essay;
    • a review;
    • a report;
    • and more!
  • Your submission must be no longer than 30 pages in total (including references, tables, graphs, cover page, etc.).
  • You can submit a paper exactly as you wrote it for a course, or you can revise it before submitting it to us.
  • You can submit one paper you wrote by yourself, and/or one paper that you wrote as part of a group (a maximum of two in total).

Entry Instructions & Deadline

Please submit your paper via email to no later than April 27, 2018.


  1. First-place winner(s): $150 Gift Card for the UTM Bookstore
  2. Second-place winner(s): $75 Gift Card for the UTM Bookstore
  3. Third-place winner(s): $25 Gift Card for the UTM Bookstore

The entry deadline is Friday April 27, 2018, and the results will be announced by Friday, June 1, 2018. 

Contest Winners

2018 Winners

AndrewFirst Place: Andrew O'Brien

Energy Outcomes of the Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Disaster (PDF)




AvleenSecond Place: Avleen Grewal

“You are there” paper- Letters from a British Magistrate in India to his friend in England. (PDF)




SughandaThird Place: Sughanda Suri

Alderville First Nations: The Journey for Equality (PDF)





2017 Winners

Shaishav Datta, Johnathan Davidson, and Thomas Piekut

First Place: Shaishav Datta, Johnathan Davidson, and Thomas Piekut

An exploratory surface-subsurface trace metal analysis of benthic foraminifera from San Salvador, Bahamas (PDF)

Maleeha Iqbal

Second Place: Maleeha Iqbal

Eliminating workplace gender segregation does not work (PDF)

Yan Liu

Third Place: Yan Liu

Ivan and Zosima: Existential Atheism vs. Existential Theism (PDF)