

# UTM Anthropology Department Committees 2023-24 (as of January 25, 2024)

Chair: Tracey Galloway Associate Chair, Undergraduate: Alicia Hawkins Associate Chair, Graduate: Todd Sanders

# **UTM TA Committee**

Tracey Galloway (Chair) Todd Sanders (UTM TA Coordinator) Joanne Kao (Financial Officer)

Associate Chair, Graduate, attends UTM and tri-campus TA selection meetings, oversees the nomination process and makes nominations where needed (sessional TAs, etc.), assists in the decisions about TA appointments.

## **Curriculum Committee**

Alicia Hawkins (Associate Chair, Undergraduate & ARCH representative) Madeleine Mant (EVO representative) Firat Bozcali (SCL representative)

The Associate Chair, Undergraduate will consult with faculty and the Chair to work on minor and major curriculum changes and curriculum mapping; attend UTM curriculum meetings; and advises on other sessional hires as needed.

The sub-disciplinary representatives will consult on minor and major curriculum changes and curriculum mapping; as well as act as alternate to attend UTM curriculum committee meetings with the Associate Chair, Undergraduate cannot.

# **UTM Anthropology Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee**

Zoe Wool (Chair) Alicia Hawkins (Member) Kimiko Hill (Member) Esteban Parra (Member – Winter 2024) Liye Xie (Member – Fall 2023)

# **PTR Committee Anthropology**

Tracey Galloway (Chair)

Heather Miller (Arch) Madeleine Mant (Evo)

Evaluates PTR submissions, suggests improvements to PTR process; most of work in May-June.

# **PTR Committee Forensic Science**

Tracey Galloway (Chair) Tracy Rogers (FSC Director)

Evaluates PTR submissions, suggests improvements to PTR process; most of work in May-June.

## **Undergraduate Events and Outreach Committee**

Michael Brand (Chair) Firat Bozcali (Co-editor of Young Anthropology) Monica Ramsey (Co-editor of Young Anthropology – Winter 2024) Frank Wendt (Co-editor of Young Anthropology – Fall 2023) Sherry Fukuzawa (primarily to attend orientation events) Esteban Parra (primarily to attend spring campus day events) Joanna Trochanowski (Departmental Assistant)

Committee members serve as liaisons with UTMAS (& AGSU) and attend any two events during the academic year: Student fairs and other recruitment events such as Fall Campus Day and Spring Break Open House, and Convocation events. The committee Chair keeps track of faculty attendance, & ensures sufficient department representation at events.

# **Undergraduate Awards & Funding Committee**

Tracey Galloway (Chair) Monica Ramsey (Member) Jack Sidnell (Member) Carolyn Loos (Department Manager) Joanne Kao (Financial Officer)

Committee members asses and rank Undergraduate and Postdoctoral funding proposals and awards.

# **UTM Space and Resources Committee**

Trevor Orchard & Carolyn Loos (Department Manager) - will contact Chair for creation of committee or faculty input as needed.

Typically, evaluates requests for and use of department-controlled space and equipment; liaises with university lab and space committees. Involved in ongoing development of Teaching Labs.

### **UTM Collections Policy and Requests**

Trevor Orchard will contact Chair for creation of committee or faculty input as needed.

Creates collections policy for storage and use of existing collections (including both internal and external requests for access & study) and for accepting new collections; evaluates requests.

# Anthropology Representation on UTM & University Committees

UTM Academic Affairs Committee

Tracey Galloway Sarah Hillewaert

UTM Academic Appeals Committee

Jack Sidnell

UTM Indigenous Initiatives Committee

Sherry Fukuzawa

UTM Research Council (UTM VP-Research)

Madeleine Mant

#### Dean's Representatives nominated for UTM Faculty Searches

Jack Sidnell Heather Miller Karen Woodall

#### Graduate and Tri-Campus Service

See separate committee lists distributed by St. George Anthropology.

#### 3 of 3