

UTM Anthropology Department Committees 2022-23 (as of July 1, 2022)

Interim Chair: Tracey Galloway

Associate Chair, Undergraduate: Liye Xie Associate Chair, Graduate: Esteban Parra

UTM TA Committee

Tracey Galloway (Interim Chair)
Esteban Parra (UTM TA Coordinator)
Joanne Kao (Financial Officer)

Associate Chair, Graduate, attends UTM and tri-campus TA selection meetings, oversees the nomination process and makes nominations where needed (sessional TAs, etc.), assists in the decisions about TA appointments.

Curriculum Committee

The Associate Chair, Undergraduate will consult with faculty and the Chair to work on minor and major curriculum changes and curriculum mapping; also forms the selection committee for the special competition for 4th year graduate student taught courses (ANT430 and 431), and advises on other sessional hires as needed.

UTM Anthropology Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Alicia Hawkins (Chair) Kimiko Hill (Member) Vivienne Luk (Member) Esteban Parra (Member) Zoe Wool (Member)

PTR Committee Anthropology

Tracey Galloway (Chair) Alicia Hawkins (Arch) Lauren Schroeder (Bio Anth) Zoe Wool (SCL)

Evaluates PTR submissions, suggests improvements to PTR process; most of work in May-June.

PTR Committee Forensic Science

Tracey Galloway (Chair)
Esteban Parra (Member)
Karen Woodall (Acting FSC Director)

Evaluates PTR submissions, suggests improvements to PTR process; most of work in May-June.

Undergraduate Events and Outreach Committee

Madeline Mant (Chair)
Sarah Hillewaert (Co-editor of Young Anthropology)
Lauren Schroeder (Co-editor of Young Anthropology)

Sherry Fukuzawa (primarily to attend orientation events)

Zoë Wool (primarily to attend fall and spring campus day events)
Michael Brand (primarily to attend fall and spring campus day events)

Joanna Trochanowski (Departmental Assistant)

Committee members serve as liaisons with UTMAS (& AGSU) and attend any two events during the academic year: Student fairs and other recruitment events such as Fall Campus Day and Spring Break Open House, and Convocation events. The committee Chair keeps track of faculty attendance, & ensures sufficient department representation at events.

Undergraduate Awards & Funding Committee

Tracey Galloway (Chair)
Liye Xie (Associate Chair, Undergraduate)
Firat Bozcali (Member)
Carolyn Loos (Department Manager)
Joanne Kao (Financial Officer)

Committee members asses and rank Undergraduate and Postdoctoral funding proposals and awards.

UTM SCL Search Committee

Tracey Galloway, Associate Professor and Interim Chair, Anthropology Francis Cody, Associate Professor, Anthropology Zoe Wool, Assistant Professor, Anthropology Andrea Allen, Assistant Professor, Anthropology (UTSG) Max Friesen, Professor & Graduate, Anthropology (UTSG) Additional members TBA

UTM Space and Resources Committee

Trevor Orchard & Carolyn Loos (Department Manager) - will contact Chair for creation of committee or faculty input as needed.

Typically, evaluates requests for and use of department-controlled space and equipment; liaises with university lab and space committees. Involved in ongoing development of Teaching Labs.

UTM Collections Policy and Requests

Trevor Orchard will contact Chair for creation of committee or faculty input as needed.

Creates collections policy for storage and use of existing collections (including both internal and external requests for access & study) and for accepting new collections; evaluates requests.

Anthropology Representation on UTM & University Committees

UTM Academic Affairs Committee

Tracey Galloway Sarah Hillewaert

UTM Academic Appeals Committee

Nicole Novroski

UTM Indigenous Initiatives Committee

Sherry Fukuzawa

UTM Research Council (UTM VP-Research)

Jack Sidnell

Dean's Representatives nominated for UTM Faculty Searches

David Samson Esteban Parra Rasmus Larsen

Graduate and Tri-Campus Service

See separate committee lists distributed by St. George Anthropology.