Faculty

Joan Simalchik: (History of Education) (Ph.D., Toronto/OISE)

Program Director: Women & Gender Specialization: Feminist History; Migration and Diasporic Studies and Human Rights Theory, WGS Board Member

joan.simalchik@utoronto.ca  
NE 4220

Beverly Bain 

Women & Gender Studies, WGS Board Member - Specialization: diasporic sexualities, black queer diasporic studies, sexual assault and violence against women, gender, colonialism, transnationalism and anti-capitalism

beverly.bain@utoronto.ca  
NE 4212

Nicole Charles (Ph.D. Toronto, WGSI) 

Women and Gender Studies - Specialization: transnational feminism, Caribbean studies and science and technology studies with an emphasis on cultures of biomedicine, health, and the politics of race and biotechnologies. Her forthcoming book manuscript examines the (post)colonial, transnational and affective politics behind the promotion and refusal of the human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine in Barbados.

n.charles@utoronto.ca  
NE4222

Jordache Ellapen

jordache.ellapen@utoronto.ca  
NE4214

R. Cassandra Lord (Sociology in Education/Women’s Studies) (Ph.D. Toronto/OISE) 

Women and Gender Studies - Specialization: black queer diaspora (Canada/US and the Caribbean), black/feminist theory and methods, queer studies, transnational feminism, critical geography of race, space and place and critical race studies.

cassandra.lord@utoronto.ca  
NE 4224
 

Victoria Tahmasebi-Birgani (Ph.D. York, Social and Political Thought)

Women and Gender Studies - Specialization: feminist theories, new information technology and women and diaspora. WGS Board Member

v.birgani@utoronto.ca
NE 4226