Faculty

 

The Department of Sociology is now located in the "New North Building", 6th Floor (which has yet to be named officially).

 
Jennifer Adese

Jennifer Adese, Associate Professor

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: jennifer.adese@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC332H5, SOC345H5, SOC404H5
  • Specialization: Indigenous Studies, Race, Racism, and Racialization, Indigenous Resistance Movements, Colonization and Decolonization, Literary Criticism
Zaheer Baber

Zaheer Baber, Professor

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment    
  • Email: zaheer.baber@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC231H5, SOC354H5, SOC465H5
  • Specialization: Social Theory, Science, Technology and Society
Jayne Baker

Jayne Baker, Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream

  • Office: NE6268
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: jayne.baker@utoronto.ca
  • Phone: 905-828-3948
  • Current Courses: SOC100H5, SOC221H5, SOC224H5, SOC347H5 and SOC452H5
  • Specialization: Gender, Education
Shyon Baumann

Shyon Baumann, Professor 

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: shyon.baumann@utoronto.ca 
  • Current Courses: SOC221H5
  • Specialization: Sociological Study of Media, Culture and Arts
Ellen Berrey

Ellen Berrey, Assistant Professor 

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: ellen.berrey@utoronto.ca   
  • Current Courses: SOC323H5
  • Specialization: Law and Society, Race and Racism, Cultural Sociology, Organizations, Environmental Sociology
Hae Yeon Choo

Hae Yeon Choo, Associate Professor (on leave until 30 June 2019)

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment 
  • Email: hy.choo@utoronto.ca 
  • Specialization: Gender and Sexuality, Immigration and Ethnicity   
Randol Contreras

Randol Contreras, Assistant Professor (on leave until 30 June 2019)

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment 
  • Email: r.contreras@utoronto.ca
  • Specialization: Ethnography and Urban Crime
Cynthia Cranford

Cynthia Cranford, Associate Professor

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: c.cranford@utoronto.ca
  • Phone: 905-828-5395 
  • Current Courses: SOC352H5, SOC387H5, SOC460H5
  • Specialization: Gender and Family, Stratification, Work, and Labour Markets
Ronit Dinovitzer

Ronit Dinovitzer, Professor

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: ronit.dinovitzer@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses:  SOC216H5, SOC342H5, SOC355H5, SOC475H5
  • Specialization: Stratification, Work and Labor Markets, Social Policy, Social Inequality
Prof. Jerry Flores

Jerry Flores, Assistant Professor

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment  
  • Email: jerry.flores@utoronto.ca   
  • Current Courses: SOC209H5, SOC300H5
  • Specialization: Studies of gender and crime, prison studies, alternative schools, ethnographic research methods, Latina/o sociology, correctional education, intersectionality and criminology and studies of race and ethnicity
Philip Goodman

Philip Goodman, Associate Professor and Associate Chair, Undergraduate - Criminology, Law and Society

  • Office: NE6250
  • Email: p.goodman@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC205H5, SOC450H5
  • Specialization: Criminology, Law and Society
Robin Gray

Robin Gray, Assistant Professor

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment    
  • Email: robin.gray@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC202H5, SOC445H5
  • Specialization: Socio-cultural Anthropology, Indigenous Studies, Critical Race and Ethnic Studies, Knowledge and Power, Critical Cultural Heritage, Ethnography, Research Ethics, Indigenous Methodologies
Susila Gurusami

Susila Gurusami, Assistant Professor

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment    
  • Email: susila.gurusami@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC219H5, SOC447H5
  • Specialization: Race, Gender, Intersectionality, Carceral Studies, Ethnography
Steve Hoffman

Steve Hoffman, Assistant Professor

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: steve.hoffman@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC231H5, SOC411H5, SOC459H5. SOC463H5
  • Specialization: Theory, Qualitative Research Methods, Science, Technology and Knowledge, Cultural Sociology, Organizations, Political Sociology, Social Policy
Nathan Innocente

Nathan Innocente, Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream 

  • Office: NE6284
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: nathan.innocente@utoronto.ca
  • Phone: 905-828-3945
  • Current Courses: SOC100H5, SOC303H5, SOC423H5, SOC480Y5
  • Specialization: Criminology, Law and Society, Stratification, Work and Labour Markets
Josee Johnston

Josee Johnston, Professor

  • Office: TBD
  • Email: josee.johnston@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC317H5, SOC349H5
  • Specialization: Sociology of Culture, Sociology of Food, Environmental Sociology, Gender
John Kervin

John Kervin, Professor 

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: john.kervin@utoronto.ca
  • Phone: 905-569-4367
  • Current Courses: SOC227H5, SOC361H5, SOC361H5 and SOC412H5
  • Specialization: Work and Labour Markets, Gender
 

Amy Klassen, Lecturer 

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: amy.klassen@utoronto.ca 
  • Current Courses: SOC211H5, SOC301H5, SOC371H5
  • Specialization: Punishment, Risk Theory, Correctional Officers, Mental Health, Criminology, Deviance, Psychiatric Power, Ethnography and Qualitative Methodology
Anna Korteweg

Anna Korteweg, Professor & Chair 

  • Office: NE6230
  • Email: anna.korteweg@utoronto.ca
  • Phone: 905-828-5395 
  • Current Courses: SOC467H5
  • Specialization: Political Sociology, Gender and Immigration
 

Zachary Levinsky, Lecturer

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: zachary.levinsky@utoronto.ca 
  • Current Courses: SOC216H5, SOC323H5 SOC326H5, SOC379H5
  • Specialization: Law and Society, Criminology
Sida Liu

Sida Liu, Assistant Professor

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: sd.liu@utoronto.ca 
  • Current Courses: SOC325H5, SOC440Y5, SOC475H5
  • Specialization: Criminology, Law and Society, Organizations and Professions, Political Sociology, Social Theory
Neda Maghbouleh

Neda Maghbouleh, Assistant Professor

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment 
  • Email: neda.maghbouleh@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC221H5, SOC230H5, SOC375H5, SOC444H5
  • Specialization: Race, Ethnicity, Immigration Diaspora, Youth
Prof. Paula Maurutto

Paula Maurutto, Associate Professor (on leave until 31 December 2018) 

  • Office: TBD
  • Email: p.maurutto@utoronto.ca 
  • Current Courses: SOC316H5
  • Specialization: Criminology, Law and Society
Andrew Miles

Andrew Miles, Assistant Professor 

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: andrew.miles@utoronto.ca
  • Phone: 905-569-4440
  • Current Courses: SOC222H5
  • Specialization: Sociology of Culture, Social Psychology, Sociology of Morality, Theories of Action, Quantitative Methods
Melissa Milkie

Melissa Milkie, Professor (on leave until 30 June 2019)

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: melissa.milkie@utoronto.ca 
  • Phone: 905-828-5410
  • Specialization: Health/Mental Health, Culture, Gender, Work and Family
AOBempah

Akwasi Owusu-Bempah, Assistant Professor

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: a.o.bempah@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC209H5, SOC322H5
  • Specialization: Race, Crime and Criminal Justice, Policing
David Pettinicchio

David Pettinicchio, Assistant Professor

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: d.pettinicchio@utoronto.ca   
  • Current Courses: SOC222H5 and SOC350H5
  • Specialization: Social Policy, Political Sociology, Social Movements and Disability
Kristin Plys

Kristin Plys, Assistant Professor

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: kristin.plys@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC236H5, SOC439H5, SOC454H5
  • Specialization: Political Economy, Development, Postcolonial Sociology, Labour and Labour Movements, Comparative and Historical Sociology, The Global South, South Asian Studies
Jasmine Rault

Jasmine Rault, Assistant Professor

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: jas.rault@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC340H5, SOC445H5
Ashley Rubin

Ashley Rubin, Assistant Professor

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: ashley.rubin@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC205H5, SOC211H5, SOC320H5
  • Specialization: Criminology, Law and Society, Social Theory, Stratification, Work and Labour Markets
Erik Schneiderhan

Erik Schneiderhan, Associate Professor and Associate Chair, Undergraduate - Sociology 

  • Office: NE6238
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email:  e.schneiderhan@utoronto.ca 
  • Current Courses: SOC335H5, SOC382H5, SOC432H5
  • Specialization: Contemporary Theory
Luisa Farah Schwartzman

Luisa Farah Schwartzman, Associate Professor 

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: luisa.fs@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC253H5, SOC300H5, SOC457H5
  • Specialization: Race & Ethnicity
Gail Super

Gail Super, Assistant Professor

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: gail.super@utoronto.ca
  • Current Courses: SOC205H5, SOC346H5
  • Specialization: Criminology, Law and Society, Punishment and Society 
Weiguo Zhang

Weiguo Zhang, Associate Professor

  • Office: TBD
  • Office Hours: By appointment
  • Email: weiguo.zhang@utoronto.ca
  • Phone: 905-828-3943
  • Current Courses: SOC244H5, SOC334H5, SOC356H5, SOC444H5
  • Specialization: Gender and Family