Faculty, staff honoured at reception for retirees

Group photo of retirees
Wednesday, June 18, 2014 - 2:03pm
Blake Eligh

UTM staff and faculty gathered recently to bid a fond farewell to retiring colleagues at a Faculty Club reception.

“These individuals have contributed tremendously to this institution,” said Professor Deep Saini, vice-president of the University of Toronto and principal of U of T Mississauga.

“It’s a sad moment to see them go,” he said. “But we have a saying in Punjabi—one eye is crying while the other eye is laughing.”

Honoured at the reception were Sharon Carleton (Human Resources), Sandra Dick (Hospitality & Retail Operations), Professor Laurel MacDowell (Historical Studies), Hana Otta (Biology), Professor Ian Orchard (Biology), and Constantin Stan (Facilities Management & Planning).

Biology Professor Ian Orchard retires after 32 years with the University of Toronto. “This has been a remarkable journey,” he said. “UTM is a community that cares. It is a special place because of the people.” Orchard held a number of administrative positions during his time at UTM, including vice-president, U of T and principal at UTM from 2002 to 2010. He will become provost at the University of Waterloo on July 1, 2014. 

For Sharon Carleton, an 8-month pilot project with the then-Erindale College turned into a 19-year career at UTM. Carleton helped to establish UTM’s payroll system and is considered the heart of the HR department. She leaves, she says, “with a smile on my face,” and plans to move to her beloved cottage.

Professor Laurel MacDowell started as a student at U of T in the 1960s, and went on to become a noted expert on the Canadian working class and Northern American environmental history. Her retirement plans include an entrepreneurial project running a community goods and craft shop near her Haliburton cottage.

Also retiring this year, but not present at the reception, were: Professor Alison Fleming, Professor Gary Kraemer and Professor Eyal Reingold (Psychology); Leonard Paris (Police Services); Deborah Berg (Anthropology); Anil Vyas (Information & Instructional Technology Services); and Professor Linda Wilson-Pauwels (Biomedical Communications).