Kayla Dias receives Principal’s Involvement Award!

6 Apr 2017 - 7:27am
Kayla Dias

Kayla Dias (MSc, Braeutigam Lab) has been awarded a Principal’s Involvement Award. These awards are given to graduate or upper year undergraduate students who have enhanced the equality of student life at UTM. Up to twenty-five students awards are presented each year. Kayla was recognized by the selection committee for “demonstrating a high level of leadership on-campus and a commitment to making the UTM community a place of excellence both inside and outside of the classroom”.

Congratulations, Kayla!

Sara Hegazi receives Graduate Scholarship!

20 Mar 2017 - 10:34am
Sara Hegazi

Sara Hegazi (PhD, Mary Cheng and Joel Levine labs) was awarded the Alexander Graham Bell Canada Graduate Scholarship-Doctoral (CGS-D) for 3 years ($105,000 total value).

Sara's research focuses on exploring the molecular mechanisms underlying clock protein stability and their role in regulating biological timing across species.

The Alexander Graham Bell Award provides financial support to top-ranked students to allow them to focus on their studies.

By Land and Sea

16 Mar 2017 - 10:00am
Bailey McMeans

A knowledge gap in nature is nothing new, but a gap in the research area of the Alaskan coastline is enough to drive a group of researchers, UTM Biology Professor Bailey McMeans among them, to further investigate the ocean and land processes that shape ecosystems in the Arctic over time and could have important effects on local Native (Iñupiat) communities.

Biology PhD student wins Prestigious Rosemary Grant Award!

13 Mar 2017 - 1:09pm
Molly Hetherington-Rauth

Molly Hetherington-Rauth, who is a PhD student in Marc Johnson’s lab has won a prestigious Rosemary Grant Award from the Society for the Study of Evolution. These awards are given to students in the early stages of their PhD program. The funds are awarded to help students collect preliminary data or to enhance the scope of their research beyond the limits of their current funding.

Three Ness Lab Members receive Travel Awards from SMBE

10 Mar 2017 - 10:48am
Jaspreet Duggal (left), Fathiya Mohamed (center) and Josianne Lachapelle (right)

Two undergraduate students and a Postdoctoral Fellow in Rob Ness’s Lab received Travel awards from the Society of Molecular Biology and Evolution (SBME). The annual meeting is happening July 2-6, 2017 in Austin, Texas.