Winner of the 2014 Hottest Student Paper Award

14 Jul 2015 - 8:43am

UTM Biology’s HOTTEST papers were announced at the picnic on July 9. There were many great papers this year and the winner of the HOTTEST PAPER AWARD for 2014 is Charlotte de Araujo (Espie Lab) for her paper:

De Araujo, Arefeen, Tadesse, Long, Price, Rowlett, Kimber and Espie. 2014. Identification and characterization of a carboxysomal gamma-carbonic anhydrase form the cyanobacterium Nostoc sp. PCC 7120. Photosynthesis Research 121:135-150

Biology students win graduation awards

28 May 2015 - 10:19am

Congratulations to the following biology students!

E.A Robinson Medals:

One medal awarded to the top graduating students in each of:

Congratulations to our BIO481 Best Presentation Award winners!

13 Apr 2015 - 8:51am

The department is pleased to announce the 2015 BIO481 Presentation Award winners.

Most Outstanding Presentation

  • Ariana Longley (Kotanen Lab) – Interactions between the bacterial pathogen Pseudomonas syringae and the invasive plant Cirsium arvemse (Canada thistle)

First Runner Up

  • Shantel Catania (McCauley Lab) – The big impact of little larvae on parasite abundances in freshwater systems

Second Runner Up (Two winners)

Joel Levine: On the Fly

13 Apr 2015 - 8:45am
Joel Levine
U of T Mississauga’s latest Canada Research Chair recipient flies to new heights.

Whether piping away on a recorder in a jazz quartet on stage or working with fruit flies in his U of T Mississauga lab, rhythm and timing are important considerations for Biology Professor Joel Levine, who was just awarded a 2015 Tier-I Canada Research Chair (CRC) in Mechanisms and Features of Social Behaviour.

UTM Biology students win awards at OBD 2015

23 Mar 2015 - 10:34am
Ontario Biology Day 2015 logo

Congratulations to the entire group of UTM Biology undergrads who attended OBD2015 at Carleton University this weekend.
Special congratulations go out to the students below, who won awards at this year’s conference.    

  • Canadian Society of Plant Biologists: James Santangelo
  • Best talk in Microbiology & Biochemistry category: Alexandre Paquette
  • Best talk in Science Education category: Ashna Khanna

Please join us in congratulating them!