Full Time Faculty

Francis P. Cody

Associate Professor
BA, MA, PhD (2007, University of Michigan - Ann Arbor)

Linguistic anthropology, social theory, postcolonial state formation, literacy, social activism, media studies, Tamilnadu and the wider South Asian world

Office: HSC350
Tel: (905) 569-4295
Email: francis.cody@utoronto.ca


Gary W.Crawford

F.R.S.C., Professor
BSc, MA, PhD (1979, Univesity of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)

Archaeology; East Asia & Eastern North America; paleoethnobotany

Office: HSC356
Tel: (905) 828-3783
Email: g.crawford@utoronto.ca

Professor Gary Crawford's website


Tracey Galloway

Assistant Professor
BA, MA, PhD (2008, McMaster University)

Indigenous health, circumpolar populations, nutrition transition, food security, chronic disease, child growth, public health policy

Office: HSC354
Tel: (905) 828-5469
Email:tracey.galloway@utoronto.ca


Sarah M. Hillewaert

Assistant Professor
BA, MA, PhD (2013, University of Michigan)

Linguistic responses to globalization and urbanization, language and youth culture, language ideologies and semiotic ideologies, language and religion; Kenya, Eastern Africa and the Indian Ocean World.

Office: HSC362
Tel: (905) 569-4888
Email: s.hillewaert@utoronto.ca


Heather M.-L. Miller

Associate Professor & Chair
BA, MSc, MA, PhD (1999, University of Wisconsin-Madison)

Archaeology; South Asia; prehistoric & historic complex societies, ancient technology, material culture, social organization, regional inter-connections, and agriculture

Office: HSC302
Tel: (905) 828-3741
Email: anthrochair.utm@utoronto.ca
 


Andrea Muehlebach

Associate Professor
BA, MA, PhD (2007, University of Chicago)

Socio-cultural anthropology; anthropology of the state and citizenship; ethics and personhood; neoliberalism; labor, value, and affect; welfare; European public culture; Italy.

Office: HSC392
Tel: (905) 569-4851
Email: andrea.muehlebach@utoronto.ca
 


Esteban Parra

Professor
BSc, MSc, PhD (1993, University of Santiago de Compostela)

Biological & Molecular Anthropology; human evolution; epidemiology; genetic variation within and between human populations

Office: HSC352
Tel: (905) 828-3889
Email: esteban.parra@utoronto.ca

Professor Esteban Parra's website
 


Tracy L. Rogers

Associate Professor 
BA, MA, PhD (2000, Simon Fraser University)

Physical & Forensic Anthropology; crime scene investigation; human osteology

Office: HSC402
Tel: 828-5449
Email: tracy.rogers@utoronto.ca
 


Todd Sanders

Associate Professor
BA, MA, MSc, PhD (1997, London School of Economics & Political Science)

Social Anthropology; East and Southern Africa; anthropological and social theory; witchcraft and neoliberalism; gender, ritual and religion; "development" and conspiracy theory.

Office: HSC390
Tel: (905) 828-3778
Email: todd.sanders@utoronto.ca
 


Stephen Scharper

Associate Professor
BA, MA, PhD (McGill University)

Religion, ethics, environment, religion and social movements, biotechnology, human rights, liberation thought, religion and globalization

Office: HS350
Tel: (905) 569-4295
Email: stephen.scharper@utoronto.ca
 


Jack Sidnell

Professor
BA, MA, PhD (1998, University of Toronto)

Linguistic Anthropology; Caribbean; Pidgins and Creoles; African American English; conversation analysis; sociolinguistics; vernacular poetics

Office: HSC360
Tel: (905) 828-3776
Email: jack.sidnell@utoronto.ca
 


David G. Smith

Associate Professor
BA, MA, PhD (1987, McGill University)

Archaeology; Eastern North America & Caribbean;ceramics; forensic archaeology

Office: HSC348
Tel: (905) 828-3784
Email: dg.smith@utoronto.ca


Liye Xie

Assistant Professor
BA, MA, PhD (2014,  University of Arizona)

East Asian Archaeology:Experimental archaeology, use-wear analysis, technological chances, groundstone tools, bone tools, prehistoric land-use strategies, agriculture, sedentary settlement, decision-making strategies, and perception.

Office: HSC346
Tel: (905) 828-3782
Email: liye.xie@utoronto.ca


Back To top