Full Time Faculty

Francis P. Cody, Associate Professor
BA, MA, PhD (2007, University of Michigan - Ann Arbor)
Linguistic anthropology, social theory, postcolonial state formation,
literacy, social activism, media studies, Tamilnadu and the wider
South Asian world
Room 358 HSC
(905) 569-4295
francis.cody@utoronto.ca

Gary W.Crawford, F.R.S.C., Professor
BSc, MA, PhD (1979, Univesity of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
Archaeology; East Asia & Eastern North America; paleoethnobotany
Room 356 HSC
(905) 828-3783
g.crawford@utoronto.ca
 

Sarah M. Hillewaert, Assistant Professor
BA, MA, PhD (2013, University of Michigan)
Linguistic responses to globalization and urbanization, language and youth culture, language ideologies and semiotic ideologies, language and religion; Kenya, Eastern Africa and the Indian Ocean World.
Room 362 HSC
(905) 569-4888
s.hillewaert@utoronto.ca
 

Heather M.-L. Miller, Associate Professor & Chair
BA, MSc, MA, PhD (1999, University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Archaeology; South Asia; prehistoric & historic complex societies,
ancient technology, material culture, social organization,
regional inter-connections, and agriculture
Room 302 HSC
(905) 828-3741
anthrochair.utm@utoronto.ca

Andrea Muehlebach, Associate Professor
BA, MA, PhD (2007, University of Chicago)
Socio-cultural anthropology; anthropology of the state
and citizenship; ethics and personhood; neoliberalism; labor,
value, and affect; welfare; European public culture; Italy.
Room 392 HSC
(905) 569-4851
andrea.muehlebach@utoronto.ca

Esteban Parra, Associate Professor
BSc, MSc, PhD (1993, University of Santiago de Compostela)
Biological & Molecular Anthropology; human evolution;
epidemiology; genetic variation within
and between human populations
Room 352 HSC
(905) 828-3889
esteban.parra@utoronto.ca

Tracy L. Rogers, Associate Professor 
BA, MA, PhD (2000, Simon Fraser University)
Physical & Forensic Anthropology; crime scene investigation;
human osteology
Room 402 HSC
(905) 828-5449
tracy.rogers@utoronto.ca

Todd Sanders, Associate Professor
BA, MA, MSc, PhD (1997, London School of Economics & Political Science)
Social Anthropology; East and Southern Africa; anthropological
and social theory; witchcraft and neoliberalism; gender,
ritual and religion; "development" and conspiracy theory.
Room 390 HSC
(905) 828-3778
todd.sanders@utoronto.ca

Stephen Scharper, Associate Professor
BA, MA, PhD (McGill University)
Religion, ethics, environment, religion and social movements,
biotechnology, human rights, liberation thought, religion and
globalization
Room 358 HSC
(905) 569-4295
stephen.scharper@utoronto.ca

Jack Sidnell, Associate Professor
BA, MA, PhD (1998, University of Toronto)
Linguistic Anthropology; Caribbean; Pidgins and Creoles;
African American English; conversation analysis; sociolinguistics;
vernacular poetics
Room 360 HSC
(905) 828-3776
jack.sidnell@utoronto.ca

David G. Smith, Associate Professor
BA, MA, PhD (1987, McGill University)
Archaeology; Eastern North America & Caribbean;
ceramics; forensic archaeology
Room 348 HSC
(905) 828-3784
dg.smith@utoronto.ca

Liye Xie, Assistant Professor
BA, MA, PhD (2014,  University of Arizona)
East Asian Archaeology:Experimental archaeology, use-wear analysis, technological chances, groundstone tools, bone tools, prehistoric land-use strategies, agriculture, sedentary settlement, decision-making strategies, and perception.
Room 346 HSC
(905) 828-3782
liye.xie@utoronto.ca


To top